We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italiano Perfecto, Delicioso!”
Review of Locanda Portofino

Locanda Portofino
Reserve with OpenTable
Locanda Portofino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: 11th Street
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Italiano Perfecto, Delicioso!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went with GF and family for my birthday dinner, it was spectacular! My gf's brother is Italian, so he and the waiter spoke Italian... we had great wine, great service, great apps, and great mains! The the pasta's we had were "delicioso", we ended up, by design with a "tri-colore" and shared among five of us... the veal was "off the rails" good.... we really didn't order off the menu, we just did a little give and take with the waiter, and molto bene, abumdanzo, delicious things showed up. I'd recommend for about anything, a casual dinner with friends, date night, something special, a family meal... good stuff. **Thank you to Dominick, my NJ Italian neighbor for hooking us up! Enjoy, "Francisco"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rosh Haniqra, HaZafon, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed each bite”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to this old well known Italian, every dish we ordered tasted good, our friends enjoyed veal chops, and seafood spaghetti,. We loved vega spgetty and salads. The service however was very slow, and we were disappointed that we had to wait so long.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bland, MO
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just like in Italy”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent. Very good Amarone. Got there early, 1st ones. Calamari was very good. Had veal milanese, which I eat a lot in Italy, and have not had better there. pasta was perfect. Guests had sea bass, and were very pleased. Would go back when i can

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Poor service, overpriced wine ($65 for a Pinot noir with a screw top??) and crowded seating on the patio combine to make this restaurant a disappointment. Salads were mediocre, pastas were good. Unfortunately, we practically had to beg our waiter for service. Bread was delivered without olive oil or butter, an interesting spread would have been really nice at these prices; Parmesan cheese was never offered, our wine glasses were never refilled. In a city with great restaurants and great service this place is severely wanting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our home away from home...”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I find this cozy little Italian restaurant so welcoming and a delight to visit. We love their food, ambiance and friendly staff. When ever we can steal an evening we go there; often spend our "date" night finishing the meal as they are clearing off the last tables....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogoglennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Portofino also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Locanda Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing