We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's Bistro

George's Bistro
Ranked #275 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is an excellent place to have lunch. I had the creamy broccoli soup and it was excellent. This restaurant is very clean and it was a huge portion. Extremely flavorful food slower service but they prepare it so nicely.

Great outdoor seating and my order came with homemade bread which made for a wonderful compliment. The waiter was very friendly. Average pricing nothing too expensive well worth the trip.

I would eat there again,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Slow as molasses service, and even worse food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a small spot off on 3rd Street promonade. The menu temped us to give it a try. I ordered a pasta dish … and after a very, very long time, it finally came out. I'm not kidding when I say that it had POOLS of butter/oil and the sauce was so thick. Honestly, in Santa Monica (somewhat health conscious place), I was shocked. The noodles were drowning in a thick layer of sauce. I couldn't get the waiter's attention, so I tried using my napkin to soak up the oil and I still couldn't get it out. To their credit, when I FINALLY found the waiter and he FINALLY brought our bill, my dish was taken off.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank la_jazz_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“plenty of atmosphere sat outside with street entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

enjoyed our evening here. sat ouside. good quality food, served quickly and in a friendly manner. plenty of choice on the menu. almost couldn't finish it so much on plate. we sat outside and had the benefit of several really good street entertainers playing music on the sidewalk. would certainly go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
498 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Not too bad...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our first night in Santa Monica (and the USA) and just looking for somewhere to have dinner. Being from Australia we had been warned about the large servings so ordered a couple of entrees to share and a salad. We had a couple of beers and a glass of wine. We both enjoyed our meal. The service was friendly and quick and the price about $60 plus taxes & gratuity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly Service & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is on the Third Street Promenade, which is not exactly a place to go for the best food in Santa Monica. Which is exactly why we were so surprised by our meal which was very tasty. I ordered the chicken marsala and my hubby ordered a pasta dish. Both were very good and filling. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive, and we enjoyed our conversation with him.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to George's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing