We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent night...”

Hillstone Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“An excellent night...”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went with another couple we met whilst on holiday to Santa Monica. It was a very pleasant meal. Even though we made a reservation, we still had to wait for 5 - 10 minutes. It was hard to get a drink at the bar as they had people seated there. Michael our waiter was excellent - always there when we needed him and not when we didn't. We had two servings of ribs and 2 of the Hawaiian steak. The ribs were fantastic. Following a fine main meal, we shared a hot fudge sundae. There were also the wine and drinks, which were reasonably done.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    191
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Most un-chain like chain restaurant ever...”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Hillstone folks know how to run a restaurant. Lovely space (formerly Houston's, by the same owners); impeccable service and every menu item is a gem. We've been there several times and look forward to each trip. Greatest item: the artichoke appetizer. I N C R E D I B L E.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoLawyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oustanding food and service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Walked in off the street and was delightfully surprised by the ambiance, great service, and outstanding food. The service was very professional and impressive. My wait staff person (Julie B) was very orderly and knew how to properly service a table without bothering you, yet knowing when to stop by. The wait staff have very good timing.
The meal was professionally prepared and not your typical microwave a premade meal in a plastic bag and throw it on a plate type of establishment. The food was very high quality and exceptionally tasteful.
I was especially impressed with the linen napkin. It is one of the fewest establishments in the USA that has a button cutout to hand the napkin off a shirt. I gracefully told my wait staff person that the napkin may disappear because it is nostalgic and classic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really great food, nice atmosphere and overall a great experience. This is a Houstons essentially so if you like Houstons, you'll like Hillstone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong dinner”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I met a friend here for dinner. What a wonderful experience! I am pretty picky about my steak but decided to go with the Hawaiian ribeye...wow! Great flavor and cooked nearly perfect. I ordered it medium but it was pushin the medium-rare end...I didn't say a word and ate the whole thing. My wife had the crab cakes and was very impressed that it was mostly crab. She loved them! To top it off, we split a brownie dessert, again it tasted great! ...walk the beach or the 3rd Street promenade and eat here.. ..we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelIsAsTravelDoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing