We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Fun Dinner”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Between Broadmay and 4th St
Description: Benihana in Santa Monica is located on 4th St., between Broadway and Santa Monica Blvd., near shopping, entertainment and the beach. Watch as your personal chef performs the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Listen as razor-sharp blades slice through tender steak and juicy chicken. Take in the aroma of sizzling shrimp, lobster and savory vegetables. Or visit our sushi bar, where your sushi chef will prepare fresh nigiri, sashimi and specialty rolls, all with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Enjoy a dining experience unlike any other.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a Fun Dinner”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Benihana is exactly what you'd expect. Pretty good and entertaining service, solid food, but nothing extraordinary. Good for birthdays.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    19
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“VERY NOISY!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We had before eaten in other Benihana, we love the tepaniaki experience...with the show by the chef, the high quality of the food. In this location the food was very good, the chef fun. The service average. The all experience was made painful by the fact that it is very noisy and that you do not ear anyone beside the person seated next to you. You don't even ear the chef or the server when they give you instructions...

Helpful?
Thank Viva_badabing_s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
334 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“You either love this place or hate it”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Do not expect gourmet Japanese cuisine or upscale sushi. This is a noisy and crowded family restaurant chain specializing in hibachi or table side prepared food. Though the food does not taste especially authentic (and yes, I have been to Japan several times) it is plentiful at a reasonable price. It depends on the hibachi cook and the server in which direction the evening goes. I would always appreciate at least someone with a "slight" asian aspect in terms of authenticity. Also do not wear your best clothes since table side cooking might result in a strong "take home" odor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hibachi”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I frequent Japanese restaurants frequently, but everything from the miso soup to our meal was delicious! I had the seafood trio which comprised of shrimp, scallops and calamari. It was absolutley delicious. I didn't try any sushi so I cannot review that, but from what I saw being served it looked very fresh. My only complaint was that the service could be improved.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delish - we love this place!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The kids menu is not bad for the price! My son loves the hibachi chicken and shrimp,and the price of $13.25 is acceptable, considering the amount of food that he consumed! (alos included onion soup, grilled shrimp appetizer, grilled zucchini, ice cream!) I ordered the teriyaki beef and the colossol shrimp - fabulous!
The chef was entertaining, we enjoy the light show with the onion and the volcano, the shrimp tails that are flying into his chef hat, and the pure enjoyment of watching someone prepare your meal - anticipation! I couldn't wait to try the chicken fried rice - loaded with the garlic butter!
Can't wait until my next visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BasketballMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing