We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trastevere

Trastevere
Ranked #74 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

While it was a little more expensive than what we were looking for, the food was great, so it ended up being worth it. They need to add cannoli to their dessert menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cepurchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    172
    100
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Seating wasn't a problem and the service was prompt and courteous, however, they got my husband's order wrong and so he had to watch us eat our meal while they prepared his correctly. I ordered the lasagna which was ok but the bottom portion was so burnt I couldn't get a knife through it. After pointing the burnt part out we got an apology from the server but that was it. At least the offer of a free coffee or dessert would have been something. The food was acceptable but not great. They clearly knew we were visiting and that we wouldn't be back. Now we won't. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Accosted because the tip was not large enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We decided to eat at Trastevere on 22nd January - our last night of our month-long holiday in California and Central America. We consulted the menu at the door and agreed that although the prices were quite high, it looked to be a nice restaurant.
Our meals were enjoyable enough and the hostess was annoyingly over zealous, but we were shocked when we paid our $111.00 bill. The invoice included a printout to show how much we would pay for an 18% and a 20% tip, which we duly ignored. There was also an offensive and rude printed description of how the tipping system works in two languages, obviously directed at tourists.
We placed $120 in cash into the folder and expected that we would get change of $9.00 before we would decide on the tip. Instead we got a mouthful of abuse from the hostess who told us that we needed to pay 18% tip, and that a $9.00 tip not enough. Who said she was getting $9.00?
First and foremost, we are tourists. We have saved our money for this trip, changed our dollars into US dollars. We already contributed to the American economy by using taxis, hotels, hire cars. We have visited your attractions, eaten at your restaurants, had numerous ordinary coffees, and we have purchased many items in your stores and factory outlets, and for each of these, we have paid US federal and state taxes. We have tipped porters, many other restaurants, taxi drivers and tour guides, and have not in the past month been treated with such disrespect.
My advice to this restaurant is to approach your boss if you are not paid enough. It is not up to the tourist, who is keeping much of the US economy afloat, to pay your wages. I am disgusted and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friends went to get a table while we were shopping, they called us and said that they couldnt get a table because we were not there, we said we were at the stop light in fornt of the restaurant, the hostess told my friend no, we got there after a few seconds and our table was gone!! a moment later when we were ready to go find another place she said oh we have a table, so we went inside, tha place was crowded, they have like 2 waitresses, so the service was very slow, we had pizza, it was ok, we were with a 10 yr old girl who wanted a hawaian kids pizza and the waitress said she couldnt do it!! really!! they have all the ingredients there, so she ended with a cheese pizza.
The we got the check and it has 15% tip included!! i was so mad at it, the tip is something you earn by providing a good service, something we didnt get! Do not go there, its not worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AleAguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Almost but not quite”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cozy ambiance if too many tables indoors. Spaghetti with seafood (muscles, clams, octopus, salmon) was nice but not spectacular. Too much pepper masked the delicate seafood flavors. The gnocci was also adequate but the sausage again a tad sharp. All the starter rustic bread and olive tapenade was excellent. Unfortunately a spinach salad we ordered never arrived. It was busy but not panicked, I guess mistakes happen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trastevere also viewed

 

Been to Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing