We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Deal, Very Good food”
Review of La Vecchia Cucina

La Vecchia Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vecchia Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Ocean Park
Canoga Park CA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Deal, Very Good food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

La Vecchia has a lunch deal where for $14 you get either a salad or an appetizer and then either a pizza, a panini or a pasta dish. I have had a few of the pasta dishes and they were very good. The appetizer of mussels and clams is excellent; the broth is only mildly spicy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Out_of_valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    121
    15
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice to be back in this great restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant 2 years ago and came back again because we enjoyed it so much. Glad to say it's not changed, great restaurant, worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorksfamilyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Your really think you are in Italy”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Excelent homemade pasta. Go as a family for a birthday celebration and we ALL enjoy our food. Good wine list with grapes and price for all teast. Very bussy and dificult to keep a conversation, but what you could expect from a real Italian restaurant. If you have some specific dietary restrictions, dont be shy and request what you want. They will nbe more than happy to please you

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drmelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Lasagna ever!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a great meal at La Vecchia cucina. My family and I are vacationing in Santa Monica from Montreal. I have eaten at many Italian restaurants but Chef Mark Mollica's Lasagna with Bolognese sauce was absolutely out of this world. My wife also really enjoyed her California pizza, the pizza crust was perfect and the toppings and sauce were really good. My kids enjoyed a Pesto Pasta and the Mista salad.
The bread that comes with the meal along with the olive oil with fresh garlic and basil was a great way to get things started.
Our server and wait staff were friendly and extremely attentive. Water glass never got below 1/2 full throughout the entire meal.
Prices are more than reasonable for the quality and portion of food that you are given.
As we were renting a beach condo in the neighbourhood, being able to walk to a restaurant with such excellent food and nice atmosphere was truly a bonus.
Highly recommend the restaurant and the Lasagna!!

Helpful?
Thank Stevieg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mama Mia...thats Italian!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We did carryout from La Vecchia's so we didn't have to fight for a parking spot or pay for one. The food is very very good with home baked bread with basil olive oil. We had the pasta and calamari which was really good considering it was carried out and not served fresh at the table. I got pasta with pomodoro sauce on it and lots of olives. YUM! Hubby got pasta with clams in a wine sauce.
We popped open a bottle of my brothers expensive wines and sat in the courtyard of his home to eat. Great...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank teri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vecchia Cucina also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to La Vecchia Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing