We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Food”
Review of Gilbert's El Indio

Gilbert's El Indio
Ranked #104 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Oakley, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Gilbert's in Santa Monica is a great little family run restaurant. I have been going there fore years. It is a cash only business that does not accept credit or checks. The service is good, but the food is fantastic! From the Birria to the Super Mule Burrito!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A family favorite in Santa Monica”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

After frequenting Gilbert's for almost two decades now, I HAVE to give it 5/5 stars. It's also a big bonus that they know me by my name there. =) Fernando is always extremely gracious and the rest of the staff is always friendly and attentive.

It's my favorite Mexican restaurant on the Westside and ALL of LA for that matter... You can't beat the cheap pitchers of margaritas made with their own secret margarita mix and Montezuma tequila. The pickled carrots are a crowd pleaser and make sure you try their Diablo hot sauce with the chips and salsa.

I've ordered just about everything on the menu but my favorites are Fernando's Burrito and their carnitas. The prices are extremely reasonable too but it's CASH only. They don't take reservations and can get pretty crowded on the weekends so be prepared to wait a bit...although you can always order a pitcher or two of margaritas while you wait!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwifoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“They just can't seem to get the salt right”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The chicken soup was so salty it tasted like the Dead Sea! The beans and rice however were completely unseasoned. Will not go back as it really isn't very good, just your average rather tacky Mexican restaurant, the type you can find anywhere. Go a few blocks further east to Lares and you will see the difference. Drinks were acceptable but this Cash Only policy really gets me off, they are a restaurant for God's sake not a taco truck!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,820 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 934 helpful votes
“Feel like family, never disappointed, great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have been coming here with family and friends for 15 years. Treated like family. Great food in casual setting. Cash only, but been that way since they opened. Have recently changed salsa recipe (a little hotter) and was offered the El Diablo salsa to try (fire never tasted so good). I will go to Gilbert's any time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food ever!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Mexican restaurant is run by a really nice family. We came from the beach and didn't dress up before. The waiter saw as after we opened the door and greated us with a warm 'hello, come on in!'. The family took really good care of us. We got awesome food, the best Mexican food ever. Next time when we are in Santa Monica we will defintively have dinner at Gilbert's El Indio again. Love Mexican food? Go there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's El Indio also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Gilbert's El Indio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing