We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Fritto Misto

Fritto Misto
Ranked #10 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 8 and went to Fritto Misto after researching our holiday before leaving England. It was well worth a visit. Fab for the 4 children ranging from 12-16 as you are able to pick your pasta then add the sauce and other ingredients to suit your taste. So great for even the fussiest of eaters. We all had "design" it yourself pasta dishes, all were delicious, service was warm, friendly and efficient.
We did have to queue outside, but they are equipped for this and there are chairs and menus to look at. We waited about 40 mins, but we would all do it again for the excellent food.

A well deserved rating. Excellent value too, the meal for 8 of us, with a bottle of wine and other drinks all round, came to $130.

Helpful?
1 Thank TinaS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    129
    35
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overrated much? ”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Whats all the fuss about this restaurant being so good??? I had lunch there and it was just ok... Portions were so big which was a plus if the pasta were good. The calamari was really good though! But again the pasta was mehhh... Never coming back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Louieliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always when in Santa Monica”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were visiting friends in Santa Monica who live within walking distance of this place. We visit them as often as possible and Fritto Misto is always a must-eat-at place. It's a little small, a little cramped at times, but it's worth it. You'll probably have to wait most times, but again worth it. Plus, they do their best to keep the wait as short as possible, and there's places to sit outside while waiting.

The menu is simple. You can either order dishes as presented on the menu, OR you can build your own dinner, which is what I like to do. You pick a pasta, then a sauce (LOTS of choices), then add a meat or fish (shrimp, chicken, etc etc), then add miscellaneous items - peppers, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, etc etc). Doing it this way will usually end up in the $14-16 dollar range and you get it EXACTLY the way you want it. I've never had anything here that wasn't really, really good.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy, huge portions”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great little Italian restaurant in Santa Monica. Tables are cozy, chairs aren't super comfortable, but the food is the main attraction.

The menu is huge, with plentiful vegetarian options, and a creative "build your own" pasta section with about 12 different pastas, 8 different sauces, and 10 different add-ins.

The calamari was crisp and flavorful--the small was large enough for 3 people to share. The gorgonzola and greens salad had a little to much dressing, but flavor was great and the small was big enough for 2-3. I had the mushroom marsala ravioli, and it was divine. The sauce was sweet but not too rich, the pasta was cooked just right, and the filling was flavorful and mushroomy.

We had the flourless chocolate cake and the tiramisu for dessert. The cake was on the house as it was our first visit to the restaurant. Both were delicious, with copious amounts of fresh home made whipped cream.

As an aside, the Arnold Palmer was one of the most flavorful that I've ever had!

Was really a great place for italian food, and amazing value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value, atmosphere, food and staff!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We are staying in a condo in SM and the owner suggested this place us after a long day sight seeing. It was perfect. No reservations are taken, so you just rock up and they will seat you as soon as they can. It is quick, tasty, good value food. Fine dining it is not and you will be in and out within an hour but it we would highly recommend it. We took our own wine (another suggestion from Paul our condo owner) and they charge $2 pp corkage. Food is marvellous and portions are large! Be warned! We shared a calamari starter for $6.50 and there was plenty for both of us. We both had speciality pasta dishes, which were lovely, but you can create your own pasta dishes if you want too. All in all, a great find and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littletiddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritto Misto also viewed

 

Been to Fritto Misto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing