We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit”
Review of Fritto Misto

Fritto Misto
Ranked #10 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Shore Hotel Santa Monica we wanted to try an Italian eatery within walking distance from the Hotel. We found Fritto Misto which was an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel and well worth the visit. This is a fairly large, busy place that although churns out alot of food does it well. The service to start was great, menus, drinks & bread all arrived within minutes. My wife and I started with a salad with Roma tomatoes, goats cheese & walnuts which was excellent. We all ordered pasta, and struggled to finish it but it was good. We were all very full but the waiter gave us a complimentary flour less chocolate cake which we happily finished. This is a very efficient, busy restaurant that does everything well and we would all happily come back when next in Santa Monica.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    129
    35
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with great food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I frequent this restaurant with a friend and also by myself. So many things on the menu, I usually have something different each time. You can be as decadent or healthy with the pasta as you like. Their ravioli combos are excellent and usually very rich. You will probably have food left over - I watched a family order the calamari appetizer and it was huge! Good selection of wine by the glass. Come early for dinner or plan to wait a bit. Great value in generally over-priced SM.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USC-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“So good i am still thinking about it a week later”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant about 8pm on a Wednesday and it was crowded but we only had to wait about five minutes for a table. On walking in the door we could tell straight away that we liked the staff and the feel of the place. We were also asked if we would share a table with another couple but didn't mind as the restaurant was cosy anyway.
I am still thinking about my sweet potato ravioli. I don't normally eat vegetarian but glad i did as these were so good! Had a sort of aniseed taste. My boyfriend had a taglietelle which i can confirm was very tasty also! We shared a salad on the side which was big and fresh.
We were able to take half our food home as the portions were big and also got a free slice of cake.
I definitely recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triplady329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't read the menu... just say "Jumbo Ravioli"”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Walking into this restaurant, I felt like we had stumbled upon a local gem. The prices are very reasonable and the food is quite good. The lighting was dim for dinner which set a nice mood.

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant on a Friday night around 7pm. The wait for a table was a short 5 minutes. They nicely asked if we minded sharing and table with another couple and we did not. They placed us at one end of a 6 top, and then they left two empty seats between us and the other couple. At the end of dinner, the manager even surprised us with a free dessert (for each couple) for sharing a table.

My boyfriend and I shared a salad to start: the Misto salad. This was good. It was nicely dressed and the vegetables were cut in a surprising way--they were all thickly shredded into long straws. You can tell they do this to cut down their prep time as the vegetables are in other dishes but it worked quite nicely.

For entrees, my boyfriend ordered some sort of dish with a pesto. It was good but not nearly as good as mine. Because the dish I ordered kinda rocked my world. I had the Jumbo Ravioli. This was a bit rich but ohhhh so good. So good I really didn't want to be nice and share with my boyfriend--but I finally gave in and did.

For dessert we had the flourless chocolate cake. It was good but probably around a 3.5 star dessert. Nothing that rocked my world--just chocolate and whip cream!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I read the reviews by other people and they were right. The food was excellent and the prices were reasonable. Large portions and everything was fresh and tasty. It is nothing fancy and I would suggested getting there around 6/6:30 if you don't want to have a wait. Casual attire great for anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritto Misto also viewed

 

Been to Fritto Misto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing