We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to finish the holiday”
Review of The Lobster

The Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Colorado Ave.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to finish the holiday”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went here on our last night of our trip. The food and service was second to non and it was worth the money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    505
    173
    68
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“really fresh seafood!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is not our first time in 'The Lobster' and we were not let down again. The service is always great and the seafood is amazingly fresh. The oyster, the lobster salad, the fried prawn, the seafood pasta - all great, nothing the be concerned about. The place has an extensive wine list, except for the Champagne - they should have some mid range too, not only the 75$ Taittinger and the 500$ Dom Perignon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The view was everything that I had read about. We enjoyed the food. We had the lobster roll and seafood enchiladas-Awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Crowded, Very Good”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Lobster was very good - great lobster and excellent crab cakes. Very crowded and noisy. Excellent location, right on the ocean.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank prof45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This restaurant has the best location in Santa Monica, next to the pier, with a great view if the ocean and the sunset. We were a party of 4. One chose the grilled lobster, which turned out to be his best lobster meal ever! I had scallops, which was average, and the other two had vey tasty chicken. The price is above most, but location and taste made it worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing