We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and service”
Review of The Lobster

The Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 681 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Colorado Ave.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great views and service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Food is pretty average for prices but the views are what you are paying for. We tried the lobster - boiled and it was served the right way - not too much of anything but warm and plenty of butter for dipping. Freshness is not the same as East Coast but that makes sense.....services was and has always been exceptional.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    491
    168
    65
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Chef made a special meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were meeting old friends for a night at the Santa Monica pier and The Lobster was recommended to us. First, they gave us a great table by the window facing the Pier and the beach, then the waiter was friendly and professional. When I asked for a meal of vegetables with one crab cake, he didn't even blink. "Of course," he said. The plate included 4 vegetables, deliciously flavored. Each of us enjoyed the seafood dishes, including the fried calamari appetizer. We talked quite a bit and the staff never hurried us. This is a great stop on your Los Angeles area visit. Don't forget to walk the Pier after dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and food was very good”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The view of the Pier and beach was great. Also the outside seating at the bar was a really good place to sit and have a drink

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good seafood and atmosphere with views, skip the bar”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We came to this restaurant after eating here last time we were in town. We liked it so much that we came back. It is centrally located and right on the SM pier. It offers great views, particularly for sunsets and an overall great atmosphere. Previously we came later in the evening and ate in the dining room. I ordered the squid ink seafood pasta which was excellent and enjoyed great wine and service. This time we came after we checked into our hotel and since we were casual from our travels and really just wanted cocktails and small plates, we decided to sit in the bar area. Apparently a bad choice on our part. Our waitress seemed as if she was on something and was completely aloof. No personality, forgetful of orders and basic table services and worse off non apologetic. She also kept trying to bring us our bill thinking we were eating in the dining room?? The bill she did bring us once we actually asked for it (from a different serve since she was no where to be found after she took our orders) was another tables tab, which took her time to figure out. Finally out of frustration we flagged a manager. He was friendly, apologized and bought us a drink for all our troubles. As far as food, the bar menu was good, we ordered the mussels, lobster roll and other small plates, but nothing special Iike what we experienced previously in the dining room. I will chalk this visit up as an exception to the norm and would definitely recommend the dining room verses the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lekhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely LOVE the service, food, and view!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My ex-husband, our son w his girlfriend, and I made 5p reservations here once we made plans to attend the Jimmy Cliff concert at the S M Pier. I made our 9/12 reservations sometime mid-August. When we checked in, it was immediately acknowledged by staff that we'd made the reservations weeks ago, and that they had saved one of the best (window w ocean view) seats for us. That was just the great beginning of a wonderful 1.5 hours. The grilled spiny (sp) lobster w drawn butter and lemon was heavenly delicious w a side of asparagus. The crab cakes were perfectly prepared and presented. My son's girlfriend had a pasta she loved that had squid, scallops, and other shellfish. My son, who's vegetarian, ordered four side dishes; every one was ample enough to share and every one was delicious (esp the skinny fries w truffles:)) We shared desserts and coffee, and never felt rushed, only pampered and catered to.
Our server was Mike, who provided spot on service, and a wonderful sense of fun and humor--we had a fabulous time. Would go again in a heartbeat!

ps As the valet took our car, we explained we were attending the Twilight concert--they asked us to have the valet ticket validated, and told us we could simply pick up our car after the concert--at ni extra charge! Couldn't have been easier. Our car was right by the kiosk when we returned at about 10p. Perfect, lovely evening made possible by The Lobster!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieBellieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing