We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food in quaint surroundings”
Review of Sam's by the Beach

Sam's by the Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam's by the Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Coast HWY
Description: A Mediterranean bistro, featuring some Middle Eastern tastes, run by a native of Damascus.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in quaint surroundings”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We had read very good reviews of Sams by the Beach on Trip Advisor and were delighted to have followed the advice of others. We were greeted by the maître d, Jean Michel like long lost friends and made to feel very welcome and special.The service from beginning to end was outstanding and the food was excellent. Jonathan our waiter was also a really lovely guy and looked after us we'll. We would definitely return if we're lucky enough to visit Santa Monica again. Thanks Jean Michel you are a brilliant host!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    24
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad parking service”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to go to Sams after receiving an incredible amount of recommendations...
After parking in the parking lot, they asked us to pay a valet fee which did not make any sense especially that we parked our car ourselves...

When entering the restaurant it was a very small and dark place. The old locations was just not attractive so we decide to leave immediately.
Noting special.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We decided to try this place after many recommendations on TripAdvisor, and we were definitely not disappointed! It's not the typical place you would go in to unless you knew about it, and we came in during what apparently was a very quite evening. We had a lovely waitress, and Sam (the owner) came over to us many times to make sure we were enjoying our meal. They gave us some unexpected treats, like a cold soup and an amuse-bouche. We tried different things (risotto, veal, quail and fish of the day) - all good, but the fish of the day was perhaps the best. Also, Sam's bread pudding for dessert was very good! All in all, a great experience - you could tell that the food was freshly made, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. One of our best meal experiences in our 3 week stay on the West coast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca_Sk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attentive waiter and glutenfree options”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We went to Sam's by the Beach on the 4th of July this year. The Inn we stayed at recommended the place and we made reservations beforehand. The waiter was very attentive and provided us with glutenfree options (since two members of our family needs that) and good service. The interior is a bit old-fashioned and dark but our overall impression of our visit at Sam's by the beach was very positive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAnnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This cozy, romantic restaurant is reliably friendly, relaxed and delicious. Sam is the perfect host and makes sure that the service and food is always excellent. This is our favorite restaurant for office dinners as well as romantic dinners for the two of us and we love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's by the Beach also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Sam's by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing