We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“♥♡SANTASTIC♥♡”
Review of Rae's Restaurant

Rae's Restaurant
Ranked #160 of 689 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“♥♡SANTASTIC♥♡”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Wellpppp, this aint Yelp......Raes... negative, it dont need help....Only minus I hark ...is the bi polar cook shark....
Ok really when I go in the waitress pulls shades down...neva frowns..smiles..n lets me clown....she brings me coffee....extra napkins n same table I like. ..nods as if to say ."lo mismo? Ive neva got soggy eggs under or over cooked..bacon crispy not greasy n bisquits n graveee. Ooweeee!!.... Salads...n sum lunch ive had, but overall..the owner was rude before...the cook very rude....the whole diner couldnt believe he acted that way...but neva had problems.... soooo its on u homegurl...sumtimes the shifts slip up.. yea...needs a make ova...but still Raes da bomb breakfast spot... food n area is fine...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WESTWESTLISAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakley, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Diner”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The diner to shame all other diners. This is the place to eat on a Saturday or Sunday morning. Very crowded, so expect to wait for 30 to 40 minutes (at least) but worth the wait.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JD3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
673 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Old L.A. Coffee Shop - not too many left”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

While in Santa Monica we needed to eat breakfast and decided on Rae's. It has been on Pico Blvd. since 1958 and is a dying breed of coffee shops that used to populate Los Angeles. I really want these remaining places to survive. I gave a 4-star rating when at best it was a 3.5. The food was good, the service fine but nothing that stood out. The place is old and needs some TLC, but again I want these places to survive. Their is a small parking lot and street parking. They only take cash, so make sure you have money. The prices were fair. A little TLC would really make this place stand out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A rainy day haven!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We got tired of the basic breakfast at the Travelodge so we ducked kitty corners across the street to the diner. Parking is limited: maybe half dozen spaces. The inside looks straight 50's with original furniture. Filled with what looked like regulars. 3 of us ate excellent meals ranging from waffles to ommletes. The total came to $28 including tip. Bring cash...no cards. Tight seating so a large family (over 5) or group would have to split up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balticrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfast places in Santa Monica”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Basic but completely reliable breakfast. It's quite small and often forms a line outside, so get there early and have your first cup of coffee before you go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grabit177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rae's Restaurant also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Rae's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing