We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever!”
Review of Valentino

Valentino
Reserve with OpenTable
Valentino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 688 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $85
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
los angeles,ca
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“As good as ever!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been going to Valentino since it opened,but I never thought to write a review since it is so local for me. So here goes: We were warmly greeted by Pierro Selveggio, who always remembers us even if we haven't been there in a while. We had items from the tasting menu which had a decidedly Siciian bent. Our server also told us-just let us know what you want and we will do it. The food was unusual and prepared in exemplary fashion. We had appetizers of tuna cannoli and cuttlefish and artichoke. For our main courses ,I had a lamb which was cooked in wine and my husband had a veal loin-just delicious. We shared a half bottle of Amarone wine. Valentinos has a good selection of half bottles.
The restaurant was busy, but you could have a real conversation with your companions. In every way, we highly recommend this amazing restaurant. It is not the end of its cycle, but keeps reinventing itself. Bravo to Pierro!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    32
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Thank you, Travelzoo!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Valentino's offered a promotion via Travelzoo for a 5-course meal for 2 people at $135 total. Not a bad deal for a Michelin one-star restaurant! We were greeted with a loud & warm "buona seras" from the manager when we entered, and the cocktail waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. Once our party arrived, we were led to a cozy corner booth area with enough lighting for pictures and dim enough for privacy. The 5-course meal came with either a glass of prosecco or house white/red wine...bonus!

I think the fact that the service did not lag even though we were using a promo voucher is the main reason I added an extra star to make this place 5-star. It's the food that brought us there, but it's the service that will keep bringing us back.

PS - the nearby area is fun-packed with lots of unique bars like The Wellesbourne so this would be a great restaurant for a date night or night out with your friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bravo!!!!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been to Valentino many times as it is one of our parents favorite restaurant. In fact we just threw our parents a surprise 50th anniversary (yes you read that correctly--50 years) party there! It was amazing. The appetizers were delicious from the bruschetta, to arancini and the frecco was amazing as well! We had a lovely selection of salad and main courses for our guests to choose from and dessert was a trio of sweets (mini chocolate cake, sorbet to and small tiramisu). We just wanted all our trip advisor friends to know that this is a top notch stand up restaurant which serves high quality delights. Giuseppe was amazing to work with!!! So for a special occasion GO! They also have the best and biggest wine selection in the city!!!!! Service was impeccable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havefun135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great, but pricey”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I splurged on a dinner using a "gilt city" certificate. The set menu included two light courses, an entree, a glass of house wine and a set desert. They also gave us bruscetta and elegant bread. We [paid $75 a person with the discount, but you can spend more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CulverCityAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Expensive -- and excellent”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Valentino is an elegant restaurant with excellent food.
My friend and I arrived early and opted to have cocktails in the bar before our reservation. We ordered the calamaretti (calamari) appetizer. The calamari was incredibly tender and accompanied by a non-tomato sauce that was very flavorful.

My friend ordered Lamb Osso Bucco and I opted for one of the specials: an Italian-style Paella made with pasta instead of rice. Both were incredible.

The service is professional and attentive - without an attitude or any sort of fussiness.

Valentino's is a special place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GareThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing