We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food`”
Review of Mercado

Mercado
Reserve with OpenTable
Mercado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Santa Moinca
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food`”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As one who likes to try all the latest and greatest in food fare, and believe me there is no shortage in Los Angeles, this restaurant was a welcome surprise. we started out with the chips and guacamole and while you really cannot mess up guac, this guac was taken to a whole new level. the chips were thick and crispy too. a perfect start. next we had the small plates skirt steak which was heaven, fish tacos and scallops and were equally impressed and did not know when to stop eating. we did not make it to the desert, however the flan looked amazing. the margaritas and beer were great as well. definitely not a quiet scene and reservations are necessary. As it is located in the heart of Santa Monica, parking is awful, but worth it at least to try this new gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    76
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Mexican I have ever had!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I have to say wow! I knew nothing about this place but liked the look of it from the outside - industrial rustic vibe, so rallied the family and we are here last night.
My husband and I had the blood orange margaritas, fantastic! It was a drink special I think.
We then started with the guacamole and a queso with mushrooms and spinach (it came with Chorizo but my daughter didn't want it, so opted for the dip without) BOTH exceptional... I could eat more, more, more!
We ordered the chopped salad to share, absolutely divine, I want my own next time we go back!
For dinner we both had the Carne Asada and it was fantastic! It's served in one piece over grilled shucked corn with guacamole and grilled spring onions and I got a side of the cilantro rice which I also want more of!
My son had the shrimp tacos which he said were incredible.
We were so full! We wanted the flan because we read reviews on yelp while we were seated and it seems people are crazy for it, but we just couldn't eat more. We will return no doubt! Maybe even today, that's how much Im willing to say BEST inspired imaginative MEXICAN ever!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun vibe, good guac, come for happy hr”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Loud music but otherwise good fUn. Great service. Shrimp, tuna, pork small plates were very good. Lots of fried options but plenty for everyone. Great margaritas. I liked the rosehip margarita best.

Helpful?
Thank mmedrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The reviews of this place were quite positive and in fact the vibe at the restaurant is great. Some dishes were really wonderful (the kale salad and the ceviche). However, my complaint is that so many dishes were overly-battered when deep fried. I have no problem with deep frying. I do have a problem when you cannot tell what the actual item of food you're eating is under all the batter. We had the seasonal squash blossoms to start, stuffed with cheese. I've had these before elsewhere and generally the batter should be very light. However, here the squash blossoms came out looking like corn dogs at a fair. Then, we ordered fish tacos - there was very little to no fish in the tacos. Instead, there was again a deep fried-looking "fish" but we couldn't find any fish actually in the dish. Really, it was very disappointing as there is no need to be so heavy handed with the batter. I would not return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a find! This place has outstanding Mexican food. We started with the guar and the cheese dip. Both were too good! We ate so much we struggled to finish our entrees which were equally impressive. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obknoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing