We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I lived closer...I would be a regular here!”

SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa
Ranked #21 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: High end sushi. Has 4 locations.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If I lived closer...I would be a regular here!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently was at a meeting in Santa Monica and came here based on a recommendation from a colleague. I was concerned as it was Friday night and they do not take recommendations and are not listed on Open Table. There were 6 of us in our group and we got there just after 6 PM. We were seated immediately. The wait staff was very friendly and took good care of us. The sushi was probably the best I have had in years. Just outstanding! The fish just melted in your mouth and appeared to be exceptionally fresh. I was told this restaurant is "very expensive", but actually turned out to be reasonable.

The only regret I have is not living closer to this place as I would definitely be a regular here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRVL4WORK00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    81
    19
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fresh but nothing extraordinary !!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very Fresh fish , sometimes a little too cold , rice it is a mix , sometimes perfect and warm and sometimes very mushy .
The problem here is that they do not have a very creative menu, also they serve only what is in the menu , no substitutions and no asking for special dietary changes.
For example : I like the uni ( which by the way is really good ) with a little lemon and a sprinkle of sea salt , they don't have salt and sometimes they don't have lemon , what kind of place doesn't have salt ?????
Overall , it is a place that you get what they have in the menu and that is it , they could be more accommodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabsKuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Admittedly, I'm not the most adventurous sushi eater, BUT my fiance is very knowledgable and skilled at eating just about anything sushi. And we BOTH loved this place. I really loved just picking the lighter version of the menu option while my fiance picked the biggest option they had... I enjoyed all the items brought out and so did he. The fist was some of the freshest I've ever had (and we were just in Japan last year!).

The service was also good and we had a lovely time with our group of 5. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best sushi I have ever had”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very simple but delicious sushi. I have never before tried sushi with warm rice and this is totally unforgettable experience. A bit pricy, but for the quality of the food that they serve it is totally fine by me.

Good service and nice ambiance. Will definitely be back sometime.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MishaFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
640 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very very bad if you're a vegetarian.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place was much hyped but doesn't deliver if your a vegetarian. They only offer edemame and cucumber rolls. No special orders. The rice was wet, and the roll was large. The wasabi helped but...it was still a large, wet, cucumber roll.

I ordered with a big group on business, if you can, I'd try to steer clear. To be fair, everyone else gave the fresh fish high marks. But the vegetarian options were very disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa also viewed

 

Been to SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing