We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveler rating
1,145
486
222
94
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,145
486
222
94
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area glass of champagne stylish hotel ocean view upon check la area valet parking ocean avenue venice beach main street los angeles casa del mar lance concierge hip block vibe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2019

This hotel features very luxurious accommodations for a pretty decent price. Considering we had ocean view and were just a couple of blocks from the beach. Big plus to be on Ocean Avenue. The Viceroy also gives an aire of old school royalty with the amount of fancy Europeans that were also guests at the hotel.

We decided to try breakfast and lunch at least once at the hotel given that we were around some of the most amazing places to eat in the world. Breakfast and lunch were both excellent. The eggs benedict (called something else) were delightful. And the sandwich at lunch delectable. The pool was great but the service not so much. We were left several times for half an hour or more without ever being asked if we needed anything. This must of have been a busy day because every other aspect of the service here was exquisite.

The Viceroy offers bicycles to their guests to enjoy during the day. Every single day we tried to get one, but were unsuccessful. I am not a fan of what some people were doing, which was to hide a bicycle between cars in the parking lot or in the bushes. Since I have to go outside often to smoke, I saw people doing that and I just find it stupid, silly, and completely arrogant. Nevertheless, the hotel should work on that because we never got to use the bicycles. The one day we did go down early, there was a large group getting bikes.

The room was plush and elegant. That's the best I can do to describe it. The shower, bath, and bed were out of this world good. The rooms are a good size too. Typically, in these boutique hotels, the rooms can be small but the Viceroy did not disappoint.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Alejandro G,

It is extremely gratifying to read such a well said and courteous review of Viceroy Santa Monica. I truly cannot thank you enough for your kind words shared with the Trip Advisor community. I believe every person on our team is dedicated to ensuring our guests feel as though they are at their home away from home with our genuine service. Rest assured our team is celebrating your thoughtful comments knowing we were able to make a lasting impression. Additionally, it is great to hear you enjoyed our uniquely luxurious guest rooms as well as the culinary experience we offer at Cast Restaurant. We hope Viceroy Santa Monica will serve again as your retreat when your travels bring you back to sunny Santa Monica. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Cordially,

Michael Bridges
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

After working very long days this was the perfect oasis to come home to. The beds were so cozy and the hotel was clean and smelled so nice. The in room dining left a little to be desired due to menu options but there were so many local places to choose from that Post Mates took care of that for me.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyager45918278901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Greetings Voyager45918278901,

Thank you for leaving this positive review for the Trip Advisor community to see! I am so happy to hear we were the "perfect oasis" for you to return to after a long day and we can continue to be for trips to come. I am sorry if our culinary offers via in room dining did not meet your expectations, though, I am glad you were able to utilize our amazing location and find some other great offerings nearby. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best,

Michael Bridges
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Second time at this hotel. Good service, beautiful location, gracious ambience. Rooms are large and well appointed with plenty of wardrobe space. Large bathroom, loads of mirrors. Great views of the beach and ocean.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 99johannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear 99johannam,

What a phenomenal review! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive and memorable experience here at Viceroy Santa Monica. The foundation from which we strive on comes directly from the thoughtful reviews our loyal and well taken care of guests, such as yourself, leave about us. We cannot thank you enough. Come back very soon!

Warmest,

Michael Bridges
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

We stayed here recently and enjoyed our visit. The hotel is beautiful and clean. We were given a glass of prosecco on arrival which was a nice touch. Our room was spacious and comfortable and I loved the amenities in the bathroom. We had room-service one night too which was good. The hotel is great walking distance to the Pier and other locations. The only downfall was that only valet parking was available and it is $50 per night but since parking is sparse in the Santa Monica area, we went with the valet.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Greetings Katie M,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. I am so happy you enjoyed our well appointed luxurious guest rooms as well as our amazing ROIL bathroom amenities. I agree that Viceroy Santa Monica's location is prime and conveniently located near some of the most popular attraction this city has to offer! We hope to welcome you back soon and when the time comes, please reach out to me directly.

Warm regards,

Michael Bridges
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

If you want ¨a best value for your money Hotel¨ go to the Viceroy in Santa Monica. You'll meet friendly people, a wonderful hide away garden and rooms with high standard. Perfect location close to the beach and with a room with sea view, nothing more to wish for.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigator10147238273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMBridges, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Hello Navigator10147238273,

I am beyond thrilled to read your review here on Trip Advisor! Our ocean view rooms truly are break-taking while our team is among some of the friendliest and helpful you find. I am so happy we had the opportunity to host your stay and hopefully solidify ourselves to be your home away from home. We can't wait to have you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Bridges
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews