We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Accessible beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Accessible beach”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The rooms were large, clean, modern and very pleasant to stay in. The close accessibility to the beach also helped. We asked the concierge about things to do in the area and planning our 2 days there and he was extremely helpful. This is a great hotel to stay in while in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Harmeet S,
We are glad to learn you had such a lovely experience. Thank you for taking the time to share. All of our concierges are Santa Monica locals so they definitely have great recommendations of what to do in the area. Pleased to hear their advice was so helpful. It's great to hear you enjoyed the easy beach access too. We hope you were able to ride down on one of our bikes. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    396
    178
    69
    39
See reviews for
280
569
87
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Across a busy road and down a short side street you will find the beautiful Pacific Ocean, a large beach and the famed Santa Monica Pier. Plenty of restaurants and shopping is just a few blocks north. The crazy thing is if you are a guest at the stunning Viceroy Hotel you might not bother to go because the Hotel is so nice. I had a lush comfortable well appointed room with all the needed amenities for a relaxing stay. Comfy bed, quiet room, clean and beautifully decorated. The hotel has that 4/5 star luxurious feel to it, like you are some place special. My check in was smooth and easy, the large attentive staff was helpful, pool area very nice, restaurant and bar both run well and were great. No complaints, would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDVMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
MrDVMP,
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience. We love that you enjoyed yourself so much that you almost didn't want to leave the hotel. We're glad you did though as you're correct that we're in a dandy location so there's plenty to get out and see in our beautiful city. We appreciate that you felt you were somewhere special as this is what we wish for all of our guests. We look forward to having you back.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

While it is not directly on the water, it is across the street. Lobby is welcoming and nice for a drink. Rooms are beautiful. The service is attentive and friendly. Loads of staff everywhere.

My stay was only one night so too quick. Years ago I was booked at another hotel on the water which turned out to be oversold. They put me up there and I thought it was so nice that I came back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
ann1016,
Thank you very much for coming back to visit us at Viceroy. We're very pleased to hear that your repeat visit was just as enjoyable as your first one a couple years ago. One night is far too quick so we do hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back for a bit longer on your next visit. Thanks again for your continued loyalty.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff are what really did it for me at this hotel. I would definitely love to stay again the next time I'm in the States. I believe it was Matt who went above and beyond for myself & my parents (please correct me if I have the name confused).

He assisted me with my bags upon my arrival, and as we weren't flying out until midnight on the day of checkout, our luggage was stored without any issues. Even after popping back with some shopping to add to storage, it was treated as no inconvenience. Upon our final return, we were offered the opportunity to re-sort our luggage as we had purchased new suitcases. This was amongst a busy convention that had started at the hotel, and again, we were not made to feel like an inconvenience.

The doormen were also a lovely service at the hotel.

I did find the soundproofing between rooms could be improved, but luckily the neighbouring rooms were quiet in the evening, so didn't create an issue.

Would definitely like to stay again for a longer period to experience more of the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fire_Worx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Fire_Worx,
Our sincere thanks to both you and your parents for joining us on your visit to the States. We're so pleased to hear what a positive impact our bellman Matt had on your all during your stay. We love our guests from Oz and understand how difficult that late night flight back can be. We are always happy to help in whatever way we can to alleviate some the pain of that flight. We hope that you can indeed stay longer on your next visit with us and we look forward to that visit.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Second time booking for business trip. Rooms remain updated and fresh, the bed very comfortable. The pool area is awesome as are the quality of some functions. Breakfast was exellent. Perfect location for beach access at Pico. Lobby and staff always helpful and welcome you with a water when coming back from a run. The glaring issues that need to be fixed is the quality of the Wifi in the rooms and the lack of any entertainment system on the Tvs. Regarding Wifi issues the guest services staff told me they have frequent problem with apple iphones and devices connecting which require frequent re-booting. Sounds like a hokey excuse for larger issue. Otherwise will stay again next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
palmster,
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty. Establishing loyal guests is extremely important to us. We are pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy the rooms, pool, breakfast, and service of our team. We do hope this is what continues to bring you back. As for Wifi, we completed and install of fiber in the building earlier this month and along with this achievement are continuing to add enhancements to the network throughout the property. We do hope that we can indeed have you back with us next time.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Really loved this hotel and stayed for a week. The hotel staff were really friendly except the bouncers who they use at the weekends who were very rude. The hotel is very sociable on a Friday and Saturday night with lots of non residents so be prepared to wait for a drink. Rooms were lovely and the pool area was great except the sun disappears very early. A roof top bar would be amazing at this hotel to get the sea views and sunsets.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blader03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
blader03,
Thank you both for choosing to spend the week with us. We're glad to hear that you were well looked after and enjoyed your visit. You are correct that we have a very active social scene especially on the weekends though we do make all attempts possible to make sure our guests are a priority. Your suggestion of a roof top bar is a very wise one. Who knows what the future holds. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

First off, the hotel is very nice, hip, and clean. I really enjoyed my stay there, except there are a couple of things that turned me off. The first thing is that I felt like the front desk wasn't particularly friendly compared to other hotels I've stayed at. The second, (also customer service related), is that a few days after checkout I was charged someone else's room service. It took multiple calls with their customer service rep to straighten this out, many of which ended with me leaving a voicemail and never receiving a return call. Eventually this was sorted, but I would expect better customer service with a top tier hotel like this.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Ray G,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy and know that we are very appreciative of your feedback. While pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel itself we are very sorry to learn of any service issues you experienced. Service is what we pride ourselves on more than anything and hearing that this did not live up to expectations is very disappointing. Your concerns will be addressed immediately and I do hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back so you can witness a true Viceroy experience.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,850 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,543 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,016 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing