We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Augusta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here on our Spring Break for one night. The service was superb from the moment we walked in the door. Jonathan at the front desk went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Was there with the whole family and the kids loved it. Great location. just across the street from the beach and within walking distance to most of the things we wanted to do. Our room was great, clean and had a good view of the Pacific.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Jon I,
We understand how difficult it can be to make sure the whole family enjoys themselves when on holiday. We are thrilled to hear that this visit achieved that task. It's nice also to hear that Jonathan extended such a warm welcome. One night is simply not long enough so we do hope we can have you all back with us soon for a longer visit.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    394
    176
    69
    38
See reviews for
275
568
87
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days with some friends. We were attending music venues in LA so it was convenient and far enough away from the hustle of the city. Close to the beach, good dining and the Pier. Room was on the 7th floor ocean front so the views were great.
Staff was friendly and extremely helpful in what ever I needed.
The pool was small and shaded except for one area... More of a social experience than anything. Not recommend for kids in my opinion. Watch out for the overpriced valet parking if you are bringing a car.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
BDE111,
Our thanks to you and your friends for escaping the hustle of the city to join us in Santa Monica. We are very pleased to hear that you all were able to enjoy yourselves. It's even better to know that this was due in part to the service you received from our staff. We do hope we'll have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to LA. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent three weeks traveling down the west coast from San Francisco to San Diego staying in some fantastic hotels along the way. I can honestly say the Viceroy was the worst of all. The interiors are tired, there was hair in the bathroom, stains on the carpet, curtains and bathroom tiles, grime on the drawer insides. In fairness the staff did their best to upgrade us to something better but by then we just wanted to leave. Stayed one night and checked out ASAP. Also the pool area is tiny and I can't imagine it sees much sun through the day. We didn't stay long enough to find out though!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Nat99,
We are very sorry to learn that your visit did not meet expectations. While the conditions you are reporting are unacceptable they are not the norm as visible by the numerous other reviews. We have just finished a refresh of the guest rooms which did involve, among other enhancements, refinishing of the tubs and bathroom floors and replacing all drapes. I would consider it a privildge to have the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience and can be reached at my direct line of 310-260-7506 at any time. Thank you for the opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and the location was perfect. It is just across the road from the beach and an easy walk up to the third street promenade and lots of great restaurants. Service was excellent from James the concierge who went out of his way to get us great tickets for the Lakers. We ate in the restaurant and the service and food were wonderful. They offer the mains as a full or half portion which is perfect if you want to try two or three courses but are not starving. I loved the decor of the rooms - the only downside is that it was very noisy in the morning. The doors are heavy and I was woken to people banging them and could hear housekeeping from quite early. I also could hear the conversations of the people next door which was not ideal. One other minor irritation was that on check in we decided to keep one room longer as our flight out of LAX was not until 10pm fully expecting to pay the extra night. We checked out at about 5.30pm and were told that as we are leaving after 5pm we would have to pay the extra night. We were expecting this but had we known we would not have been charged prior to 5pm we would have left that little bit earlier - this should have been explained when we enquired about keeping the room. One last thing to note is that wifi is not included which is always annoying when you are paying so much for a room. Mixed feelings about this one - it is not that it was not good but I would probably try somewhere else next time. I had previously stayed at Shutters on the Beach which is more expensive but perhaps worth the extra.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
jesmith_13,
Thank you for joining us during your visit. We are pleased to learn what an impact James had on your stay. We are very lucky to have him and are always happy to learn that our guests feel the same. While we regret some of the challenges you experienced we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. I do hope you would consider contacting me personally on your next visit to allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I are moving to LA soon and recently spent three weeks there trying to get a feel for different neighborhoods. Our stay in the Santa Monica area included 8 nights at the Viceroy so we got to know it quite well. The Viceroy was wonderful, as expected, with lovely and friendly staff, big, hip/modern rooms, great amenities, a nice gym and good food/restaurants. The location is nice - about 1.5 blocks to the beach and a 10-15 minute walk to the Promenade. Easy access to the PCH.

I'd say the only real downside to the Viceroy is the pool area. The pool area is very pretty, but its small with two tiny pools and a lot of shade. There's one small area that gets sun so guests tend to rush to the sunny spot as soon as the soon peaks out. Great for evenings or early morning breakfasts but if you want to spend an hour or so at the pool in the afternoon you've got to be the first one out there or else you better cross the street to the actual beach.

We are a very active couple in our early 30s (no kids) from NYC and this was a great place for our extended stay in LA.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Ocean Ave so you can see the ocean from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR407145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
AR407145,
Congratulations on the big move. We do hope you were able to find a neighborhood to your likely. We are very pleased to have had the opportunity to play host to you during this process. 8 days in a hotel can feel like a long time so it is fabulous to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. Now that you're locals we hope we can regularly welcome you back to join us in Cast and Cameo. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed at the Viceroy with my family last summer, 2013. The first thing I noticed was how close it was to Santa Monica beach. It was fantastic. The decor is very modern and chic. We did not use the pools at all because we wanted to enjoy LA but the pools too looked lovely, despite being very small. This hotel is not the kind of hotel to go to and relax by the pool, it is more of a sleep in hotel I'd say.

We had an issue with our booking which was dealt with pretty quickly and got us an upgrade to a beautiful suite! The sea view rooms are completely amazing. I would really recommend them because there is nothing better than waking up to the beautiful beach and palm trees! The rooms were also very stylish and the beds very comfy and big.

My favourite part was the location. Being able to walk to Santa Monica beach in 2 minutes down the road was perfect because it meant in the evening I could run down and snap a picture of the sunset which I have included! Don't miss out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydiasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Lydiaaltman,
It is wonderful to know that almost a year later you are still able to look back at your experience so fondly. Thank you for sharing. You are correct that there is absolutely nothing better than waking up to the beach and we are lucky to experience this every day. We are pleased to hear that our staff was able to correct your booking issue and that you were able to truly enjoy the rest of your experience.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great location. Quality food in their restaurant with beautiful outdoor seating near pool. They bring your water after you return form a workout or run! Rooms were clean and well-lit. Don't miss the weekly yoga class that usually takes place outside by the pool. Instructor is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MildredFarkweiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
MildredFarkweiler,
Thank you for joining us and sharing your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and were well looked after by our staff. I'll be sure to share your kind words with our yoga instructor. Begining this month we have added a second class on Saturdays so I do hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy this soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,825 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
925 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
994 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing