We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were in LA for 3 days as part of a family holiday and stayed at the Viceroy. The hotel was tres chic. The concierge was great and recommended a number of good activities. The hotel was an easy walk to 3rd street shops and they provided bikes free of charge.

We thought we would need a car in LA (and hired one from the airport) but if we had our time again we would have caught a taxi from LAX and done the tours with pickup from the hotel. There is a car rental place across the road from the hotel if you need to rent one.

Our only complaint was that we had a room with an interconnecting door and we could hear everything going on in the next room. The air conditioner was also a bit noisy when it came on.

Room Tip: Dont get room with interconnecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black_Cat_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Black_Cat_HK,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is well suited for people without a car, as you suggested. We sit in between beautiful Santa Monica and Venice Beach. We do hope to see you again in the future and appreciate your patronage.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed at the Viceroy for 2 nights after a long flight. The hotel was immaculate, great location and the early check in at 8am made it even better.

The only criticism was the weather as we couldn't utilise the beautiful pool area.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMDO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear SMDO007,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear we were able to get you an early check-in, especially after a long flight! Apologies for the weather! Next time you visit us I'm sure it will be bright and sunny.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Viceroy for a family adult weekend in LA - we had limo service to see the shuttle The Endeavor, to Jiraffe for dinner, and to The Eagles concert at the Forum, and for each experience the concierge at Viceroy was very accommodating. We really appreciate it when hotel staff take the reins and we don't have to worry about following up with drivers, coordinating schedules, sorting out water for the rides, etc. The staff made our stay extra special by alleviating the worry from us having to plan everything. In addition, the staff gave us full use of the cabanas by the pool when available and were very attentive to our needs (two of us were pregnant and hungry!!). Although we were a bit disappointed in the lack of view of the beach/ocean, the rooms were large and clean. We also didn't like that the pool was shaded, as we are a very sunny bunch from San Diego and Santa Barbara - but again, the friendliness of the wait staff made everything special. I will say that the check-in staff were a bit snobby and did not receive my husband and I very well. The bartenders and servers, on the other hand, were lovely and the food was delicious! I absolutely loved my hamachi ceviche. The cocktails are fabulous, too - especially the Ocean Ave.The drinks and dancing on Saturday night after The Eagles was really fun as the hotel gets quite trendy at night. My only complaints are regarding the lack of view, shaded pool, snobby check-in staff and small fitness center. But again, the wait staff are LOVELY and the concierge made us feel at home. thank you for a fun adult family weekend!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room, otherwise you're staring at nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Laurel L,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and support. Please contact me directly anytime to discuss any service that fell short but we are happy to hear you enjoyed our property, our wonderful concierge and our restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Viceroy Santa Monica offers exceptional service and guest satisfaction, great rooms and a fabulous location - easy to walk to all the highlights of Santa Monica beach life. Breakfast service outdoors is a lovely relaxing way to begin the day, great service and convenient wi-fi throughout.

Room Tip: The Ocean Ave rooms have street noise although some of them have lovely ocean views ~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonlacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Sharonlacroix,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your patronage and are glad to hear about your experience.

We look forward to having you back!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at the Viceroy several times over the last few years and I have never been disappointed in the guest room or service. It is Great hip hotel - guaranteed a memorable experience. very friendly staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear travelingirl411,

Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We appreciate your support and feedback. We look forward to having you back!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at the Viceroy Santa Monica in December 2013. The staff was absolutely outstanding, the hotel was exquisite, and the overall service was superior. This was my first trip to Santa Monica and although it was primarily a business trip, I did have an opportunity to enjoy the local area and some leisure time. My room was perfectly pristine, the bed was super comfortable, and the decor was absolutely beautiful. Every single member of the hotel staff went out of their way to assist me with any needs that I had and they were always there to lend a hand or answer questions with each encounter. The staff was very helpful with local taxi service and recommendations for local sights and restaurants. I checked in and out with ease and left wondering how soon I could return for a few days of relaxation. I definitely have Santa Monica and the Viceroy on my mind.....I would fully recommend this hotel!

Elizabeth A.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Elizabeth A,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are truly delighted to hear that this was the most enjoyable hotel stay you've ever experienced. We do hope you will be able to visit us again soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here in October 2013, the check in was friendly and easy, the room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom. The windows opened so I could enjoy the fresh air and the view of the sea. The gym also had windows that opened. The bar was happening but not too loud for a quiet drink and read. The restaurant, Crest, had an amazing spiced cured pork belly, a great blend of textures and flavours. This has been my best experience in a number of stays in Santa Monica, I will be back.

Room Tip: I had a suite on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WongaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear WongaPark,

Thank you for staying with us. To hear that this was the best experience you've had in a Santa Monica hotel makes us very proud. We look forward to having you again!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,023 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,738 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,027 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $449 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing