We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was the final hotel in a 6 night stretch of hotels along the pacific coast from Seattle. Was a tiny bit hard to see from street as we arrived as we had not stayed there before, but once we circled the block we found it and was a very nice smooth check-in from very helpful front desk staff. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. Too many mirrors in the bathroom though :-) We were on the 5th floor with decent views of the pacific. It was a 10 minute stroll to the promenade. Amazing sunset on our last night there we watched go down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beevcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
beevcat,

We are pleased to have played host to the final stretch of your journey down the pacific coast. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the great photos. The sunsets lately have been spectacular so we're glad you go to enjoy that on your last night. We are also pleased to hear that the staff took great care of you and you enjoyed the room. We are in LA after all so to us there's no such thing as too many mirrors but we'll definitely keep your suggestion in mind. Thank you again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    380
    172
    68
    38
See reviews for
264
552
87
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Morton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

By far and away one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at on our holiday in California. The service, the ambience and outdoor areas were suburb. With great ocean views and within short walking distance to the town and the beach. Rooms were beautifully presented and the staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Trevor G,

We are truly honored to be considered one of nicest hotels you encountered during your holiday. Thank you for allowing us the chance to welcome you and for sharing your experience. The pleasure was ours and we hope we may have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

First night and so far we feel like we made a fantastic choice. How can you go wrong when you check in and they say Oh you've been upgraded to a suite, sorry your room isn't quite ready may we offer you a glass of Prosecco? Concierges so helpful!
More details to follow!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NancyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
NancyG_11,

It is very rare that we receive reviews while a guest is still in house with us. We are so pleased that you are having such a fantastic experience. We are eagerly waiting for more details but please do feel free to contact me personally during this visit if there's anything I can do to help make your stay even more fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We loved the hotel. We had a lovely, clean room with a nice view of the ocean (5th floor, partial ocean view). The service was excellent - super friendly and professional staff from check-in, valet service, concierge, and all the servers at the restaurant and bar. We enjoyed great breakfast on the patio outside and delicious cocktails at happy hour. Great location: short walk to the beach and in walking distance of great restaurants and shops. We liked being close to Venice too.

Room Tip: 5th floor partial ocean view had a nice view of the ocean. If you need total quiet you may prefer n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizabetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
lizabetj,

Thank you for joining us at Viceroy and for sharing your experience. It is fabulous to hear how much you loved the hotel and know that we loved having you. Thank you for allowing our staff to take such good care of you and we're pleased to learn of the impact they all had on your visit. The weather has been absolutely amazing in Santa Monica so it's great to see that you got to spend breakfast and happy hour outside. We thank you again and hope to see you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The lovely outdoor areas around the pool feel like an oasis amongst the chaos of down town Santa Monica! Great place for a leisurely out door lunch.
Rooms and public areas very smart and spacious. Couldn't really fault anything except lacked a bit of character but that goes hand in hand with larger hotels and the training of the staff in bigger chains.
All in all would probably choose an hotel nearer to the beach on a return visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
FermanaghKeys,

We thank you for escaping the hustle and bustle of Santa Monica to come enjoy the oasis of our pool area. We are pleased to hear what an enjoyable time you had and the enjoyment of your leisurely lunch. While we understand that you may desire to be on the beach during your next visit we hope you'll remember the lovely visit you had with us and return to Viceroy. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel oozes urban chic from the moment you walk through the door. It has a very trendy feel with the lounge music in the background, the chandeliers and the suave furnishings. My wife and I were wowed as soon as we stepped in. The room was immaculate with all the amenities one could ask for. We did find it rather strange that many of the amenities had prices on them however. The valet parking service was friendly and prompt. The only little complaint would be of the pretentious staff who appeared very robotic in personality but they could have just been following instructions from management and we didn't let this bother us much. Overall a very good hotel but if I'm in the Santa Monica region again I'd probably stay at Shutters as that's by the beach and has a different vibe. Definitely satisfied with the stay however.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetAzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
SweetAzNz,
Thanks to both you and the Mrs. for joining us at Viceroy. One of our favorite things is when a guests is wowed the moment they walk through the doors so we're glad this happened with you. We're pleased also to learn that this impression carried up to the guest rooms. We are sorry however to learn that the staff did not make the same impression. We take great pride in our staff's genuine and organic service and regret that this didn't reflect during your visit. We are glad however that you were satisfied with your visit and hope to welcome you back to this side of the street on your next visit to Santa Monica.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I only stayed one night at the hotel as part of a business trip, but it was enough to leave a very positive lasting impression. The Viceroy is a pretty building with elegant but casual sensibilities. Pastel colors brighten up the lobby and the rooms, and all of the materials are top-quality. The room is supremely comfortable. Rooms with balconies overlook the beach. And the hotel restaurant is very, very good; try the shakshuka for breakfast, and then try to remember another hotel in North America that serves anything that good.

The only downside, if there is one, is that the hotel is about a 15-minute walk into downtown Santa Monica, and a 20-minute walk from Venice. But it's California, where the weather is always beautiful, so don't let distance sway you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
chalega,
We are very pleased to learn that a very positive long lasting impression was created from just one night with us. We thank you for opportunity to create this impression for you. It's fantastic to learn that you enjoyed yourself throughout the hotel especially in the restaurant. This is the second mention of the shakshuka dish on Trip Advisor so I'll have to let Chef know all the love it's getting. We appreciate the opportunity to host you for the night and hope to have the chance for many more to come. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing