We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viceroy Santa Monica - stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Viceroy Santa Monica - stay there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great hotel with superb LA style and impeccable service; and none of that aren't-you-lucky-be-here pretension that seems to mar so many of the "in" hotels. Spacious rooms (even the non-ocean view ones), excellent food and quite the scene at the pool/lounge. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: ask for the partial ocean-view - you get great light/view and slightly cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
rahul r,
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience and recommendation. We are very pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy the style of the hotel but more importantly the substance which is our service and people. Thank you for recognizing this and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    381
    172
    68
    38
See reviews for
267
553
87
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a fantastic 10 days enjoying the marvellous Viceroy Hotel in Santa Monica. The staff were more than accommodating without being over bearing and the service was exceptional.
The location and setting is just about perfect, one block from the beach and a short walk from the busy 3rd Street shops and bars. I would also mention Main Street just behind the hotel which is great for relaxed Southern California restaurants, bars and coffee shops.
We first came to the Viceroy 5 years ago and it was good then, I think now that bit better without being pretentious.
A wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the rear of the hotel, the higher the better as some music at the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smedley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
smedley26,
Thank you for coming back to see us after 5 years. The only thing better than being able to welcome back a guest is hearing that we're still exceeding their expectations 5 years later. We are grateful to you and your husband for allowing our staff to welcome you in for the 10 days you were with us. We look forward to you having an even more wonderful visit the next time you come see us even if it is in another 5 years. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is wonderful, the employees were very nice, the room was great and the beds too, the decoation was cozy, there were only 2 things that I didn't like, air conditioning in common areas and the price

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Paula L,
We thank you for joining us at Viceroy and for sharing your experience. We are very happy to hear that you had an amazing experience. While we unfortunately couldn't check off all off the boxes on your list we're pleased to hear that those we did made such a positive impact. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

the hotel has a great location, just a few minutes from the beach, and city centre, with ocean view. the decor is modern, very tasteful approach. rooms are very clean, and have lots of space. staff is very helpful, gave us a champagne welcome drink when we arrived, plus complementary vouchers for one drink at the bar during our stay.
it provides free wifi free of charge in all the hotel.
The only step bak is that it is a little pricy. drinks at the bar are very expensive and the restaurant is also very pricy.
we had a minor problem with the plumming in the room that was fixed in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Daniel I,
Thank you very much for joining us and sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself throughout the hotel and we well looked after by our staff especially with the minor plumbing issue. Our Food and Beverage team is working on some very exciting promotions in the restaurant and bar which will definitely give some bang for the buck. Hope we can have you back again to experience these. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for the night in September, and it was perfect! Wonderful location, pleasant staff, and beautiful room! Everyone was so accommodating and easy going. It was such a great vacation. This is my new favorite Santa Monica hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Jessica560,
Allow us to say that we can't wait to have you back. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had a perfect weekend. With so many great hotels in Santa Monica we are honored to be your new favorite. Thank you for the opportunity. Until next time.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here with our family. Our first stay in Santa Monica, I wanted to stay near the beach. Great little boutique hotel, nice interior design and friendly staff. We were surprised when we checked in we were given welcome champagne, Vue Clicquot. Pool looked nice but didn't get to enjoy it. The bar area was nice, had a quick bite, the BLT Sliders were enough to hold me over until dinner later in the night.

The view was awesome, I really wanted to leave the sliding glass door open all night and enjoy the ocean air but the traffic noise was a little too much, no ones fault. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasJon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
VegasJon007,
Thank you for joining us for your family's inaugural trip to Santa Monica. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves. The BLT Sliders are a bit addictive so surprised you were able to save room for dinner. We're very glad to hear you'd consider joining us again and do hope we can take you up on that. Hopefully you'll get to spend some time at the pool on the next visit.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I came here with my daughter for a look at colleges in the area. We had been to California a few times but never hung around the Los Angeles area for very long. With that in mind, I wanted to spend a few days shopping, dining and seeing the sites with my teenager. I booked the Viceroy because it looked like it had a real Hollywood feel. We loved the place. It's lovely in a cool sort way and my daughter loved posing for pictures in the beautiful lobby with her newly purchases outfits! It's a great location close to the beach with tons of dining and shopping close by. We borrowed bikes for a ride down to Venice beach. The room was nice, clean with white linens and comfortable bed. The concierge was very helpful with dining recommendations and directions to top LA shopping. Would definitely return to the Viceroy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_diA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Travel_diA,
Thank you for allowing us at Viceroy to give you a true taste of LA. It sounds like you and your daughter had a simply fabulous visit and one that we hope built a lot of memories. Thank you so much for sharing. We a very pleased to hear that you would return and hopefully she decided on a school in the LA area so we will have the chance to welcome you back more often.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing