We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Monica luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Santa Monica luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I came here with my daughter for a look at colleges in the area. We had been to California a few times but never hung around the Los Angeles area for very long. With that in mind, I wanted to spend a few days shopping, dining and seeing the sites with my teenager. I booked the Viceroy because it looked like it had a real Hollywood feel. We loved the place. It's lovely in a cool sort way and my daughter loved posing for pictures in the beautiful lobby with her newly purchases outfits! It's a great location close to the beach with tons of dining and shopping close by. We borrowed bikes for a ride down to Venice beach. The room was nice, clean with white linens and comfortable bed. The concierge was very helpful with dining recommendations and directions to top LA shopping. Would definitely return to the Viceroy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_diA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Travel_diA,
Thank you for allowing us at Viceroy to give you a true taste of LA. It sounds like you and your daughter had a simply fabulous visit and one that we hope built a lot of memories. Thank you so much for sharing. We a very pleased to hear that you would return and hopefully she decided on a school in the LA area so we will have the chance to welcome you back more often.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    337
    151
    64
    34
See reviews for
227
497
78
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not so funny at 12.30am when you are jet lagged, exhausted to say the least and in need of a good sleep. Felt very sorry for the little old lady being helped to her room an hour earlier too. So if you want some quiet time, get a room on the ocean side...otherwise face the condescending, patronising night reception person who declared that I should have done my research and chosen a different hotel if I didn't want my world to rock until 1am, reverberating walls and booming Masters of Ceremony. Pity because the pool facilities are beautiful and the hotel well located.

Room Tip: Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Australian325,
We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We were very sorry to learn that you did not experience a good nights sleep with us. While we do embrace our active nightlife scene at the pool we do try and make guests aware as much as possible. However even with that said it is imperative to us that all guests are made to feel comfortable and while with us. We are sorry that we were unable to do so and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and my 30th birthday at Viceroy Santa Monica. It was our first Viceroy experience and it didn't disappoint. Before you arrive, you know you're going to walk into a hip, cool, inspiring environment. What we didn't realize was that the service was going to be even more stellar than the place itself. Complimentary cocktails upon check-in, a concierge unlike any other, attention housekeeping staff, water bottles upon returning from a beach run... the list goes on and on. The location is great, there are awesome beach cruisers for guests, the pool is super cool (snag a chair in the back because it does get shaded in the pool area pretty quickly) and the bar tenders were top notch. It was a fantastic experience and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor (of 8) with a view of the pool - awesome view and California breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Traveling Tings,
Congrats to both you and your husband on such a momentous weekend. We are so fortunate that we were able to join you in your celebration. We couldn't be happier that the stay didn't disappoint and in fact was exceeded by the service and special touches you received from our team. We hope that this first experience will be followed by many more to come. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Viceroy is great for the category hotel it is. The rooms arw clean, service is great, but too much emphasis is on being 'cool'

Location is pretty good, but like many things in LA - will need a car.

Would pay up for shutters/casa del mar next time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dla1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dla1383,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you and we appreciate your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay and were treated well by our team. We respect that we weren't necessarily your cup of tea as we do provide a unique experience and we thank you for giving us the chance.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were warmly welcomed to the Viceroy by Irene in reception. The prosecco on arrival was a nice touch.The lobby area sets the overall tone of the hotel, very hip cool LA vibe. The bar and pool area is a very chilled spot and attracts a young crowd with a dj playing by the pool side.Our ocean view room was beautiful light and airy with a spacious feel....gorgeous view of the beach and Santa Monica pier.we were presently surprised by a welcome note from the manager offering us complementary drinks to mark our honeymoon. We would highly recommend the Viceroy great location 2 minutes walk from the beach and easy stroll to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Annabelle23,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon with us at Viceroy. We could not be happier to hear what a wonderful and "vivacious" stay you had and how welcoming Irene was. It sounds like you had a true Viceroy Experience during your special occasion and we are thrilled to learn this. Thank you for sharing your experience and allowing us the privilege of having you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not especially impressed with our stay. service in the garden/pool was often hard to come by (15 min wait for a menu) and there was construction noise from the building site right next door. our room was missing the bolster cushion behind the pillows on the bed meaning a six inch gap that swallowed pillows and uncomfortable lounging on the bed. apparently no room has bolsters despite them appearing on the photos on the website. our bathroom extract didnt work so we had steamy mirrors each time the shower was used. initially impressed with the decor until the hotel covered all public areas with plastic orange veuve clicquot tat - presumably a sponsored promotion by the drinks company. Half the pool was out of bounds for a photo shoot one morning meaning little opportunity for guests to catch some sunshine (the sun reaches the garden only for part of the day). We encountered smashed glass in the corridor outside our room. It all added up to an experience that didn't seem very guest focused. On the plus side the food is good and bar drinks are also excellent. But I wouldn't stay here again and would avoid the brand based on this experience.

Room Tip: You get road noise from the front facing rooms even those on high floors. But construction noise at...
See more room tips
Green Features: Cards put in rooms to say hang towels you want to keep but there are no rails on which to hang the towels. So environmental policy noy entirely thought through.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char|London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
CharlLondon,
We are truly grateful to have had the opportunity to welcome you though very sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your stay. While we do embrace that we are able at times to have opportunities for partnerships, such as the one we currently have with the Polo Classic, or fashion shoots nothing matters more to us than our guests. We are very sorry that the experience you had was not representative of this. Thank you for the opportunity and we do hope that we will be allowed a second chance to exceed your expectations.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have never bothered to write a review before, but the Viceroy was a huge disappointment. Website pictures are misleading. This hotel is NOT on the beach. Pool area is OK, but there is no hot tub. Service throughout the hotel is uneven at best. They have lovely full-size toiletries -- which cost $45 each if you decide to take one home. Guess what happens when you don't take it home? They top it off and put it back in the room! Ewwwww. (We witnessed the housekeeper doing this.) There is no alternative to the wildly overpriced valet parking. We were one of three parties at the pool one evening and it took a half- hour to get a cocktail and four requests before they brought requested ice water. The last day we were there, they turned the entire pool and lobby area into an ad for a certain champagne. The only way I would remotely consider returning is if they dropped their rates considerably. I would've felt ripped off at $225/night. At the $375/night I spent, I am outraged.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
TravelGirl4945,
We thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet expectations. While you are correct that we are not on the beach we do have ocean view rooms and are across from the beach. As part of our green initiatives we do offer full size refillable Neil George bath products. This is a very common green initiative in hotels though we are always happy to offer other options for guests. We are disappointed to hear we will not have the pleasure of welcoming you back but thank you for the opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#17 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing