We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Fourth at the Viceroy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Fourth at the Viceroy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Viceroy with our two teenage children (13 and 16) from July 4-7 in a suite.The room was larger than expected, and there was plenty of room for all of us. We were on a high floor with an ocean view, and noise was not a problem. The décor is really creative and sets this hotel apart from the others in the area. The staff was friendly and welcoming without being stuffy. The location is perfect - the beach, pier and shopping areas are very close to the hotel. Some of the mechanical aspects of the room were imperfect (tricky a/c, doors that stuck, exercise room was small and not fully equipped) but overall this was a great choice for our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 853kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
5starmom,
We know how difficult planning a vacation for the whole family can be so we are thrilled to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves. Thank you for choosing to spend your 4th Holiday with us. Hope to have you back for the next family trip. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    373
    168
    67
    37
See reviews for
260
545
85
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Viceroy for 7 nights. A week before our arrival from Ireland I called the hotel to arrange an airport transfer. James the consceriege called and also emailed back within 5 minutes to confirm the transfer was booked. During our stay James recommended numerous Restaurants and places of interest in the area to visit. Also on seeing us in the lobby area every day he made a point of making sure we were enjoying our visit and asking if he could help in any way. James is a credit to the hotel and his profession. All the other staff were also very friendly. We moved on to another 5 star hotel in Southern California and experienced the total opposite in terms of service. Overall the Viceroy is a lovely spotlessly clean and friendly place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciarangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Ciarangee,
Thank you for sharing your experience in particular your interaction with James. As you can read from numerous other comments James truly is the jewel in our crown. We could not be happier to hear what a positive impact he had on your stay. On his behalf allow me to state that we can not wait to have you back.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June this year and had a number of problems with service and hotel facilities. The hotel interior is very impressive but it has a large problem with trying to combine looking after hotel guests and running functions. Guests ultimately miss out with the only restaurant being closed and on two occasions the pool area to accommodate weddings. On our first morning hot breakfast came out with the first course of granola and fruit which meant the hot food was cold when we came to eat it. Poor service when you are paying top prices. The second morning we were served cold coffee. After this we had breakfast in other establishments which was inconvenient. In fact because we doubted the service we ate out every night. Pool service was hit and miss. Some days we were invisible and it took more than 30minutes to get a drink and snack. We came back to our room one afternoon and had no shower or hand soap. Another time a bathrobe had disappeared. As the guest service phone was never answered we had to ask at reception each time. In the lobby area there were dirty cups and debris left on the table near the coffee machine and staff just looked at it and went on their way. We got the impression that the staff were all having a good time but had forgotten the guests. Very strange. It is a great pity because we Were guaranteed repeat business because our son has moved to Santa Monica and we will be visiting every year. It has also put the rest of the family off booking this hotel which I feel could be perfect with a large portion of troubleshooting from head office.

Room Tip: Sea view is the quietest and best.
See more room tips
Green Features: Option not to have clean towels every day but lights and AC did not go off automatically. Room staff left lights on every day when they serviced the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Shirley M,
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience and that we did not exceed your expectations. We do thank you for your feedback and agree that it would truly be a pity if we did not have the opportunity to welcome you back when visiting your son. I would consider it a privilege if you would contact me directly at 310-260-7506 so we may speak about your experience. We thank you for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were a bit concerned regarding street noise, because some of the other reviews had mentioned traffic etc. We were lucky to get a high floor room away from the busy street. We did not have any trouble with traffic or loud music from the party at the pool. The pool area is nice, but we missed a Jacuzzi. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening, and the food was above average but not exceptional. The ambiance was very nice, and the service friendly and professional. The Saturday night crowd was chic people mostly between 30 and 40 years old. We would stay here again - if we can afford it!

Room Tip: High floor room - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Ghostviking,
Thank you for choosing to join us even though there was some initial reservation. We are happy that your concerns were dampened and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope we can have you back as we do have great promotions that run all year long. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I made up my mind to stay here a few years back following a stay at the Loews at Santa Monica. We loved Santa Monica so much we had to go back! We also stayed at the Viceroy in Palm Springs last year and that convinced me 100% that the Viceroy was definitely the place to stay this visit. And we really weren't disappointed.

Hotel is lovely. Friendly staff. Nice vibe. And great atmosphere. And I love the design and quirky features. It's also a lot more boutique-y in style rather than resort based which makes it an all round relaxing hotel to be in.

Location is central to the main shopping area, the beach and (our favourite!) Main Street. You really can't go wrong. Lots of bars and restaurants right on your doorstep.

Santa Monica is a great place to stay in LA to tour the area and the Viceroy is definitely the place to stay when you are there!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TanyaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
TanyaTourist,
Thank you for coming back to see us and for visiting our sister property out in the desert. Glad to know that none of these experiences disappointed. We're pleased also that you were able to get out and explore Main Street as many guests focus only on the Third Street Promenade. Sounds like you were able to experience all our great city has to offer. Thank you again for sharing our wonderful experiences.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Viceroy whilst travelling with my wife on our honeymoon. We were made to feel special from the moment that we we arrived and received excellent service throughout our stay. We were offered a glass of champagne on arrival and found a lovely congratulatory note in our room. We made several requests to the reception and concierge staff through our stay and they were invariably courteous and helpful.

The room itself was spacious and well appointed with good views across Santa Monica to the ocean. Unfortunately the first room that we were offered smelt of cigarette smoke (due to a previous resident who had ignored the request not to smoke. When we notified reception they immediately agreed to relocate us, moving our bags whilst we were out. The alternative room was equally good as the first. We felt they handled this very well.

The public areas in the hotel were really plush and we particularly enjoyed the lovely little sun lounging area by the pool.
The hotel is excellently place in the heart of Santa Monica 5 min from the board walk and beach and 10 min for the main shopping area.

We ate in the restaurant once for breakfast and once on room service. The food was ok but not brilliant so we'd recommend wandering to one of the many nearby restaurants or cafes. Urth cafe, just a couple of blocks away, was our favourite.

We will definitely stay in this hotel again if the opportunity presents and would certainly recommend it to others.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyR186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
AndyR186338,
Thank you to both you and your new bride for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us. We consider it a privilege and are pleased to hear that you were made to feel special during this momentous occasion. We are thankful to have had the opportunity and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our second stay at the Viceroy was as perfect as the first one - it really felt like coming home. The check-in staff were excellent, we loved the glass of champagne after our long flight.
This time we got a room on the 7th floor with sea views and absolutely loved it - the view was amazing. The lovely waitress at the breakfast remembered us and introduced us to the new breakfast menu and gave us great recommendations. I just love the breakfast there! We used the pool area a lot and had a fantastic stay, again. Viceroy is still our favourite!

What we liked the most about the hotel:
- love the pool area, relaxing during the day and fab for drinks in the evening
- brilliant service, the staff is just super nice and made us feel so welcome
- great beds, quality sheets
- love the overall decor of the hotel
- great location to explore Santa Monica

Room Tip: 7th floor for best views. Booking ocean view is totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsCalledWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
ItsCalledWanderlust,
We hope after this visit we now have fans for life. Thank you for allowing us to become your home away from home. The fact that after two visits you have made connections with our staff is thrilling. Thank you for sharing this and coming back to visit us. We do hope we can have the pleasure again in the very near future. Cheers.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing