We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, beautiful, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Relaxing, beautiful, great location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently stayed for 2 nights for a business trip and was blown away! After a few recent stays in W. Hollywood, Santa Monica was a breath of fresh air. Super close to the beach, shopping, restaurants, etc. Food was awesome! Ordered room service which came super quickly for breakfast, and spent the friday afternoon by the pool and had the most delicious burata salad. Dinner & drinks at the hotel bar was also lovely! Staff was attentive and courteous; room was spotless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Andrea P,
How wonderful that you were able to mix a bit of relaxation and enjoyment into your business trip. We are happy that you were able to truly enjoy all of the amenities of the hotel. We are very proud of our food and beverage offerings so we're happy to hear these did not disappoint. We hope that we can play host to many business trips for you in the future. Thanks again for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    383
    175
    69
    38
See reviews for
268
559
87
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location, close to beach, restaurants and theSanta Monica Pier. It is a beautiful property in the center of the beach at Santa Monica yet it is very relaxing and has a wonderful secluded pool area. Best of all - amazing customer service. It has it all!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Maureen G,
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to pamper you during your visit. This is one of the things we like to do most. We are glad you enjoyed you experience and appreciate you sharing it. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall the hotel was fine, but it could use a little updating. The rolling doors in the bathroom woke up everyone who was sleeping everytime someone got up in the middle of the night. The night club and private parties make for a noisy and hardly relaxing experience on a Friday or Saturday night. I think the rooms on the ocean side might have been quieter but an additional $200 a night. There was a strange incident with room service as someone sent food to our room when we werent there. The waiter left it in our room with no signature. The hotl was very nice and removed it and took it off our bill, but still odd.

Pool is super tiny and more suited for the night life of the hotel. The beach is a block away so you don't really needed it. Overall nice experience, but undecided as to whether or not to go back. Maybe a non-holiday weekend would be more relaxing.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise, you have to pay for an ocean room. Even the city view on the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeCosmicTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
EuropeCosmicTravel,
Thank you for joining us this holiday weekend. We are very sorry to learn that your experience did not exceed expectations. You are correct that with it being a holiday weekend we were a very different hotel than usual. I would consider it a priviledge if you would contact me directly so we may discuss this experience and that I may have the chance to convince you to join us again. You may reach me on my direct line any time at 310-260-7506. Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I literally fell in love with this place, the pictures on the website don't do it justice, the time spent here was priceless, relaxing, fancy, pampered, etc! The location was more than perfect, walnut distance from the beach, bars, and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estefany85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Estefany85,
Thank you so much for joining us. We love all the adjectives you chose to describe your experience. These are the things we hope all of our guests can feel during their stay. Thank you for sharing. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon so you can come relive your love affair with us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a break to my 2 week consulting job in Santa Barbara, I drove down to Santa Monica for a bit of R+R and fun. My stay was awesome in every way-facilities. I had the best pool day, along with enjoying almost everything the hotel has to offer (next time I am booking a spa treatment!) I was actually sad when I had to head back north. Thanks, Viceroy for making my weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMMazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
aMMazing,
The pleasure was all ours. After working 2 weeks straight we can imagine you'd need a little r+r and fun. Thank you for thinking of us for this and allowing us to take care of you. We have a chaise deck by the pool with your name on it next time you need a break. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as the last leg of our honeymoon and by no means were we disappointed. The reviews are pretty much spot on with what previous travellers have said. It is perfectly situated to be a stones throw from the beach, local transport links and the pretty awesome area of 3rd street promenade. The service is what you would expect from a 5 star boutique hotel in the area and the interior is luscious (was being updated again when we were there, in a very non-intrusive way and can't wait to seen how they could possibly make the place even cooler than what it is :-))

Our room was of a good size and furnished with quality decor, we also had a gorgeous view of the beach. The bed was verrrrrrry comfy!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the viceroy and rounded off an absolute dream of a honeymoon. We loved the viceroy and Santa Monica in general and cannot wait to visit again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oggyscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
oggyscutt,
First allow us to again congratulate you and your new bride. We're so happy for you that your honeymoon was a dream and glad that we could end the trip with a wonderful send off. We do hope we can have you both back soon to see the refreshed restaurant and lobby. We hope maybe for an anniversary to come. Until then thanks so much for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Viceroy is one of the finest and coolest boutique hotels you will ever visit. I have stayed at this property several times and am always delighted.

The first thing you will notice once you step inside is the decor - very Miami Beach chic! Vintage chandeliers painted gloss white, chartreuse green and gray wall coverings. Doesn't sound so good when I write it but boy does it work. The lobby is classy but casual. There is a nice bar off the lobby which is a very happening hot spot on the weekends. Local people and guests mingle here for the great atmosphere and fine food. The crowd is couples and singles 30+ years old.

The restaurant is one of the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. My recommendation is the roast elk and just let your server pair the wine that is in your budget.

The rooms are mini suites with the same contemporary decor as the rest of the hotel. Very stimulated and minimalist. Not stuffy, just perfect. Great bedding, very clean and ocean view rooms are worth the extra fare.

There are two fantastic eateries right across the street. A wonderful Italian restaurant and a quaint outdoor cafe serving a robust and unusual breakfast that you don't want to miss. Make a reservation at the Italian restaurant for a romantic dinner and expect to wait for a table at the cafe.

The Viceroy is a unique experience that is sure to impress that special person in your life!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a romantic ocean view towards the end of the floor. The staff is very accommadatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
J T,
Thank you for your continued loyalty, It is truly our pleasure to have you return with us again and again. We are glad that we can continue to delight you. And we think your description of the decor is great. so don't second guess yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing