We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff here is absolutely top notch. They must all have a great boss! From valet team, front desk, concierge and housekeeping. Everything that touched us there was fabulous.

The rooms are not giant, but the chic small feeling of this hotel is unbeatable!

Room Tip: Room 619 looks right over pool and had two double beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunareist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
lunareist,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We're glad to hear that you had a great experience and that you have love for us. Very pleased also to know that our staff and your interactions with them were key to this. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    383
    175
    69
    38
See reviews for
268
559
87
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived late after our wedding reception and were warmly welcomed by the receptionist with a chilled bottle of champagne and a nice upgrade to a junior suite with an ocean view. We had forgotten to tell the hotel that we are a newly wed couple and they certainly made our entire weekend even more memorable. We are in love with the design of the hotel and its location is just superb. The in room dining menu includes many fresh and yummy smoothies and juices.

Room Tip: Both ocean and city views are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Bitil,
First allow me to congratulate you on your recent nuptials. We are honored that you chose to spend your big day with us and glad we could turn a memorable day into a whole memorable weekend. Hope we can have you back next year to relive this experience on your anniversary.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Let me preface this review by saying this was my first time staying in Santa Monica proper, so I can't provide any comparisons with other SM hotels. Yes, as others have stated, the service is very nice and consistent with other finer properties.
My primary disappointment was with the rooms. Others may know the answer, but I get the feeling this property may have been a Sheraton or Holiday Inn at one time, at it has that type of raw space. The current finishes and decor are top notch though. We had two rooms, both very very small with negligible closet space, one chair, no desk and with little room to even walk around the bed. The cooling system in both rooms was very loud and took 5-6 hours to get the rooms to temperature-70 degrees (yes, we had the curtains closed to reduce the solar glare). But be prepared for loud fans.
The two 'pools' are very small, maybe 15-20 square feet each and wedged into the back of the hotel. if you want a laugh, watch the hotel guests maneuver around as the shadows move, leaving maybe 5 or so chaises in the sun.
Lastly, when i asked the doorman where the fitness center was, he said " Oh, you mean room 223". It turns out he was serious, it is room 223 with enough space for 4 people, but not much more.
I stay in hotels over 200 nights per year and am a long time beneficiary of tripadvisor ( thank you to everyone who has written a review). The reviews have so often been spot on, and I can't recall the reviews not being accurate. And maybe that is the issue with this property. My hopes were set high because the hotel is so highly rated, but alas, the rooms were a big letdown. That said, this may be the norm for Santa Monica, and if so, I apologize. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to just about all you will want to do in town, but if you have the flexibility to not be in Santa Monica, stay at the Wilshire for about the same price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Jim F,
Thank you to you and your family for joining us. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and thank you for sharing the reasons why. You are correct that the hotel was originally built in the mid 60's as a different hotel and as most structures of that time quite boxy. Though the structure itself remains, since being a Viceroy the inside and rooms now reflect our unique boutique style which you yourself point out with compliments of the finishes and decor. The hotel does celebrate our two plunge pools as being more a place for congregation than lap swimming. Once the summer months arrive we will have more chairs and more sun but in early spring this just isn't the case. With the amount of travel you do we recognize that you truly are a hotel expert which makes us appreciate your feedback all the more. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
210 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I come to LA once a month. I usually stay at the Casa which is an excellent (albeit more reverential, stately) hotel on the beach, but The Viceroy was a real wake up call this trip, reminding me how a hotel stay should be.

It sounds maybe silly but walking through the lobby or returning to the valet and having everyone welcome you by name, does make you feel at home.

It's a very trendy hotel. (Philippe Starck-like decor) but very friendly. Not too pretentious. Fab pool area. Hip bar. The dinning room is a bit cold (atmosphere-wise for breakfast) ie the marble tops really need cloth table mats to take the edge off china and glass running up against marble. But the staff are attentive.

My main gripe would be the ridiculously modest amount of wardrobe space. Huge room, but tiny wardrobe. And few draws etc. No reason for it bar poor design. Because the room was big. Being a bloke I am not that bothered leaving clothes in my suit case but if I was with my wife, she would want more space to hang clothes, etc.

I'll be back. It's not on the beach but it's a stones throw away. And it's close to all the shops on the 3rd St. Prominade.

You have to go to Asia to find similar, attentive service. Great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xplor138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
AndrewRe,
Thank you for coming across the street to find us. There are many fantastic hotels in Santa Monica but we are thankful now to be the one that you can call home. Though with any home there is always room for improvement and we thank you for your feedback. We are preparing a refresh of our dining room later this year and will definitely take your comments into mind. Thank you again and we do hope that we can have you back for your future stays to LA.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Returning back to the Viceroy every evening to be greeted by one of the warmest and most friendly team of staff I have met made the week that I spent there an absolute pleasure. From the geeeting on the door to the maids who made the rooms, everyone was so friendly. The views from the upper floors are great, especially overlooking the ocean. My room was really comfortable and very light and airy. Eating outside on the patio is a must, and the menu provides a good selection (especially for a weeks visit!). Easy walking distance to the 3rd Street shopping area of town and all of the local restaurants. Going back very soon!

Room Tip: Higher floors with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Simon F,
Thank you for allowing us the privilege of playing your host for a full week. We know that being away from home that long can be difficult. Because of that it is wonderful to know that our team made you feel at home during this stay. Grateful that we'll have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great hotel central to everything in Santa Monica - reasonable when you compare it to like properties on Ocean Avenue. Second time I've stayed there. James the Concierge will hook you up with whatever you need, and the rooms are generously appointed and spaceous. Razor thin balcony on the ocean side of the hotel, but appreciated the double sliding glass doors (inner and outer) for keeping the traffic noise off of Ocean Avenue essentially nonexistent. The staff was super courteous and the people watching a nice perk lol.

Room Tip: higher floors are less likely to pick up noise from Ocean Avenue. Get to the pool early to grab wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Lou S,
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you with us twice. We truly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experiences especially your recognition of James. He is our superstar and definitely the man with the hook ups. Look forward to having you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen Phillips
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location is great. The rooms are quaint and quite large. I was traveling for business, and this hotel was just not comfortable for me. I was on the third floor over the pool and it's a fun spot but not if you are in your room working. So it was just a bad match for this trip. The pool area has music going till midnight- or there abouts and lots of kids were squealing in the pool. The hotel also pumps a very distinctive scent into the air of the lobby, hallways and it was also in my room. I asked to have it removed from my air system. It was very over powering and when I asked the front desk about it, I was told it was their "ethos". OK! So I checked out and headed over to the Four Seasons for the next 20 days of my trip.

Room Tip: There is construction going on next to the hotel. Check on this before you book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tojopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
tojopop,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing your honest feedback. We do provide a unique experience and we regret to learn that you did not feel we were the right fit. We do hope that you were able to enjoy the remainder of your time in Los Angeles. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing