We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomdation in Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomdation in Santa Monica”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my second stay at the Viceroy and they do not dissapoint! The staff are very personable and they provide a personal touch to the excellent service that they provide. We were on site for two days with our seminar group and the meeting rooms and related services were first class. The quality and calibre of the food service on site was also outstanding.

The accomodations are extremely well maintained and the location is extremely convenient for access to the beach front and to the major shopping and dining areas in Santa Monica.

I look forward to returning for my next stay soon.

Room Tip: The west facing rooms allow a view of the ocean from the upper floors and the rooms are extremely qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Lance D,
We cannot thank you enough for your continued loyalty. We are happy to hear that this stay was a good as the first. We empower our staff to use their personalities and provide personalized service which sounds like you were able to appreciate. Thank you also for providing us feedback on your meeting and food and beverage experience. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for stay number three.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    396
    178
    69
    39
See reviews for
280
569
87
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Viceroy came highly recommended by LA-based friends. Great location (short walk to all the Santa Monica attractions) but not beachside. However this is a minor detail. The greatest thing about the Viceroy is the service. We only made a last minute booking but the staff made us incredibly welcome from the moment we were greeted by the valet until when we checked out. Small but very appreciated details such as a glass of champagne as we checked in to the valet asking if we needed directions anytime we jumped into the car, are just some of the reasons to love this hotel. They know how to make you feel special (special mention to Guest Relations Manager, Sean Navarro who really looked after us!).

We received an upgrade which made the stay even better. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom products are Neil George which are a nice touch. The gym is great - all good equipment and very very clean. And the pool area is beautiful - I only wish I had more time to enjoy it.

My only gripe is no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms so you have to go to the main foyer area to get a coffee - not always great if you want to stay in your PJs.

This is certainly a "hip hotel" - not just in the decor but the people who frequent the bar and restaurant. Certainly attracts the "beautiful" people of LA so its great for people watching but I felt like I was at Fashion Week.

Room Tip: As the road is busy, ask for a room on a higher floor to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Miranda C,
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. Glad to hear you feel that your friends did not steer you wrong in their recommendation. We are so very pleased that our staff, especially Sean, were so welcoming and took care of you during your stay. While true we don't have coffee or tea makers in the room, as they don't really fit with the decor, we can have these delivered to your room upon request. We apologize if this wasn't offered but will ensure you have this on your next visit when you'll hopefully have more time to enjoy the pool. Thank you again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I love staying at the Viceroy Santa Monica! I've celebrated two birthdays here with girlfriends and we've been treated like gold on both trips. The staff is extremely attentive and friendly...remembered all of our names, offered us welcome champagne, and overall took great care of us! I'll be back in June for yet another birthday celebration and can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Ali C,
We are very thankful to have had the opportunity to celebrate not only one but two special occasions with you. The fact that you and your girlfriends feel like gold and keep returning is what our business is all about. We can't wait until June when we can welcome you all back once again. We've got the birthday hats waiting.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The service was great!!! I was treated so well by every staff member I encountered. They were prompt, warm and friendly with my requests. Not only was the service amazing but the room was clean, comfortable, classy and very nice! I have visited the Los Angeles area several times and this was by far the best hotel experience I have had. The location of the Viceroy hotel was perfect-only a couple blocks from the beach and a short walk to ideal shopping and dining. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Ellen S,
How fantastic to hear that you visit was the best hotel experience you've had in LA. We are thankful to have had the opportunity to welcome you and appreciate your comments. We are glad to hear that all the staff treated you so well and on their behalf allow me to say we can't wait to welcome you back.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've stayed here a few times, all short trips for work. The staff is amazing. They go the extra mile to make me feel comfortable, welcome, and important. Service is speedy and friendly. I was even upgraded to a suite last time--whoa. Amazing. I would most definitely recommend The Viceroy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
JillFH,
Thank you for your continued loyalty and for taking the time to share you experience with us. The fact that you feel comfortable, welcome, and important is a delight to hear. We truly believe these are the most important things to our guest experience and that is why we empower our staff to go the extra mile. Very pleased to hear that this is the reason you recommend us. Looking forward to many visits in the future. Thank you again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at The Viceroy while visiting our daughter in Santa Monica. We arrived from NYC several hours earlier than the 2pm check in time. Within a few minutes we were in a great room on a higher floor (602) overlooking the hills.
Throughout our stay, we were always greeted warmly by the staff throughout the hotel. Having just arrived from the cold weather of the Northeast, dining outside at Whist was perfect seated by the pool.
We will definitely return to The Viceroy anytime we are in Santa Monica!

Room Tip: Ask if a room on a higher floor is available; quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Nancy H,
We are pleased to hear you received such a warm welcome in both service and temperature. We are also very happy to hear you were able to get into your room early. While we can't always guarantee early arrival, we do our best to allow our guests to check in when they arrive no matter what time it is. Thank you for choosing to visit us and we look forward to the pleasure of seeing you soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Never has a staff accommodated me so well! Because I am Sabbath observant, some hotel security issues had to be dealt with to accommodate me, which Michael, Danny, and Andrew did in the most friendly and helpful way! The beds are very comfortable, and the location is excellent if you want to be near the beach. There is convenient full day and night parking at the Civic Center one block away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JYBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
JYBZ,
We are humbled by your very kind review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We believe that no guest request is too big or small and should be done in a friendly and helpful way. We are very happy to hear that you felt your requests were met in this manner.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,547 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,022 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing