We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viceroy Santa Monica
Nearby Hotels
$261
$199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge by Wyndham Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$219
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$255
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$332
$299
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$411
$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $460/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$448
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $513/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$520
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $503/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$397
$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $524/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,751)
Filter reviews
1,751 results
Traveler rating
988
439
196
81
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
439
196
81
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaglass of champagnehip hotelocean viewupon checklocation is greatlobby barshort walk to the beachocean avela areavenice beachmain streetvalet parkinglos angelescasa del marconciergeblock
Filter
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,751 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Viceroy in Santa Monica is a nice, stylish hotel about 1 block from the beach. The rooms are of a nice size & decorated in a fun sort of '60's modern way. The bathroom is nicely decorated with marble tile but has a sliding door that doesn't quite close (just as word of warning if sharing the room with friends!). The hotel is on a busy street so there is some street noise- if you get a room that is not ocean-facing, be warned that rooms on the odd numbered side if they are not looking out over the pool, they will be looking over a parking lot where the hotel seems to do repairs (we were in room 525) and you can hear noise from the repair area. The hotel staff is very friendly, the beach is a block walk away, there is coffee/pastries every morning & the cleaning staff does a great job with the rooms. Overall enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have less street/parking lot noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

rachael a,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I imagine the beach sounds really good to you right now as cold as it is in NYC. We appreciate the feedback you provided and will look into the source of the repair work being done. We certainly hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed with our 2 children aged 11 & 9 in adjoining ocean-front rooms. The room setup was comfortable and setup worked well. From the moment we checked in, we were treated to exceptional service from all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they had great local knowledge for restaurants , sightseeing & tips for commuting around LA. The decor of the hotel was funky and the outdoor pool area was gorgeous. The hotel had a lovely downstairs bar to enjoy a cool drink at the end of a busy day.
The location was perfect for walking to the pier or shopping precinct.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and would consider staying here again if we chose Santa Monica. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacintaG819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Jacinta G,
We are delighted to hear that the family had such a wonderful time. Your kind words about the service your experienced mean so much to us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Room on top floor was comfortable, spacious and there was a great view of the ocean. Breakfast was disappointing and car parking fee seemed high. No complementary water on the room. We've stayed at many hotels on the Californian coast during the past 3 weeks and all provided mineral water free of charge each day. It didn't spoil our stay but it was a niggle.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Huggis,
We are very sorry to hear that we didn't exceed your expectations. If there is anything we try to avoid more than anything it is providing our guests with an average experience. Glad though that you enjoyed your room and the view. Water, available in the mini bar in room, is also offered to our guests in lieu of champagne as a welcome drink and at our runner's station located at valet. Thank you very much for joining us and for providing your feedback.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived in Santa Monica after a four week trip to LA from NYC. What a hotel to choose... It was amazing. Our ocean view king room had a view to die for. The staff were as wonderful. Santa Monica, you stole my heart. Viceroy, you've made a friend for life. (A special shout out to Sandrine for helping us).

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank craiglegrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Craiglegrice,
Thanks so much for your review. So glad that we were able to play a part in ending your trip on a high note. We've shared you comments with our entire team especially Ms. Sandrine. I've heard of leaving your heart in San Francisco but we'll definitely take you leaving your heart in Santa Monica instead. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked the hotel because we wanted to stay in SM and this hotel offered an excellent location, close to the beach and in a walkable area, just off Main St.
We arrived late and had asked for a room with view, which i would recommend otherwise you can end up with view of the parking lot in the back even though you're 2 streets from the ocean.
We got a room on the 6th floor in the end of the hall, the view was nice but we found out that we were right by the service elevator which was extremely noisy particularly in the early morning and evening.
The hotel was decorated Kelly Wearstler and it's very modern and sleek. However for such a new hotel I found it to be badly kept up. We were surprised to find loose screws and rust stains in the bath and the bedroom lamp (which was a china dog) was broken (?). Cleanliness seemed to be an issue as well since there was a huge amount of dust in the furniture, which didn't get cleaned while we were there.
I would stay here for the location but was clearly disappointed by the maintenance. This hotel was very hype when I lived in SM but it seems to be losing its luster. Hope somebody takes care of it.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view otherwise instead of an ocean view you'll be staring at the parking lot of the hotel Ask for a room the furthest away from both ends of the hall of the hotel, there are service elevators that are going up and down all the time at all hours and it becomes extremely noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spdmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

spdmatos,
We're very disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations. We do though greatly appreciate your feedback. The hotel has just celebrated our 10 year anniversary and along with this we plan to conduct a refresh of our rooms near the end of the year. We hope we can welcome you back when this is completed.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews