We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect girls weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Perfect girls weekend.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I planned a girls' weekend at the Viceroy and this is my second time staying at the Viceroy ( I also had a wonderful experience the first time I stayed there). From the moment we checked in until our checkout, the hotel staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Little things like giving us magazines poolside when we forgot to bring reading material, or having cabs ready for us when we were ready to go to dinner, made all the difference. James the concierge was a pleasure to work with and helped us plan where to go out/eat etc.

The hotel decor is ecclectic and modern, and the cabanas by the poolside are a great way to spend a beautiful Saturday afternoon. The waitstaff by the pool was excellent, always bringing us little tastes of different smoothies the kitchen had made or providing us with sunscreen when we misplaced ours. None of the attitude you expect from a trendy LA hotel.

We also had dinner at the hotel (20% discount for hotel guests) and the food was delicious. They sat us outside in a large round table (there were 11 of us) and with the DJ in the background, it was perfect. You don't even have to leave the hotel for a fun night...the bar and pool are great places to enjoy a warm LA night.

Room Tip: The full beds are on the smaller side, so ask for a king if you are sharing a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We shared your review in our manager's meeting yesterday as an example of a standard we should set for every guest who stays here. We go to great lengths to ensure our guests have an "experience" and not just a "stay" when they are here. I think we may have nailed for your and your friends!

Please come again soon!
Cheer,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    383
    175
    69
    38
See reviews for
268
559
87
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a magnificent sea view and the room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the walls are very thin so it is easy to hear the people talking in the next room. We had dinner there which was expensive but tasty and interesting. Breakfast was excellant. Most of the guests seemed to be in their 20s or 30s and I think we were the oldest in the hotel! Staff were very friendly and helpful as we weren't flying out until late.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurlingham56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for reaching out and submitting your feedback. We have tried several things to correct the wall issue, but short of tearing out all the walls and starting over. We do cater to a younger crowd in the bar but our restaurant is typically a more sophticated set. I am happy however that we did have friendlly staff to compensate for some of the things we do not have control over.

Please come and see us again.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed all over the world and there are not many places that offer a Four Seasons sort of customer experience, The Viceroy Santa Monica does just that!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your posting, I love it when we are compared to the Four Seasons! That is what we are working towards!

Please come stay with us again!
Cheers,

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Viceroy Hotel Is a perfect place to stay for people with high standards like myself! It's a very clean, fresh and luxurious hotel, LOVELY staff with perfect customer service, every day the doormen (very posh) greet you with a lovely smile and wish you a great day, so polite and caring! delicious room service food (especially the macaroni cheese!) and the gym and internet are free of charge.

If you get a room at the front you will have a great view of Santa Monica beach, which is stunning on a very sunny day. I will also add that the rooms and the bathrooms are very luxurious and definitely worth the money!

Very plush hotel and definitely my favourite! When I return to Los Angeles I will most certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl0tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I love this hotel. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable (I LOVE their beds, bedding and soap products), the lobby is beautiful, the bar inside is a beautiful art deco room, and the outside bar by the pool is lovely, especially at night. The problem is, unless it is happy hour, you will spend a RIDICULOUS amount of money on drinks and food. Martinis are $19!!!! The appetizers we got were tiny and expensive ($15 for 3 crabcake crustinis the size of the tip of my pinky, $13 for ONE meatball). The food was VERY subpar, not too tasty, small portions and way overpriced. I had brunch with my friend on Sunday and we both got a standard egg breakfast with two cappuccinos each, and it was $57!!! My bill at the end totally shocked the hell out of me, and I ended up overdrawn with my bank, as a result. I'd suggest bringing your own alcohol for your room and sneaking it down to the bar to mingle, as it is a nice bar to hang out in, and Main Street is walking distance and has much nicer and cheaper restaurants. Also parking is $35 a night, plus they charge an additional fee for I don't even know what.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idontwaitinline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are a unique venue and offer pricing that reflects the entire experience. The pricing for our cocktails and food and beverage as well as valet parking is commensurate with our location and neighbors. We do offer a happy hour on food items as well.

We appreciate you giving us a try and will consider us again!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on our honeymoon trip through California. We were very much looking forward to it, given it was one of the most expensive hotels we had booked, and the website made it look amazing. Overall, we were very disappointed with the hotel (and were left feeling a bit angry about the whole thing!). We were pretty surprised on arriving at the hotel - it is on a very busy main road (not right next to the beach as the road name would suggest, but it is within walking distance), is a rather unpleasant looking grey, concrete building, with views overlooking more main roads and currently next to a huge building site. The inside of the hotel is considerably better, though - art deco wall hangings, trendy seating, a nice bar etc. - but it's all a bit surface and the rooms are pretty small compared to other hotels we stayed in, particularly the bathroom which wasn't really big enough to get ready in. In addition, we felt like we were being ripped off the entire time - there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, there was no breakfast included, you had to pay a ridiculous daily rate for the internet etc. No personal touches or added extras you get elsewhere. Also, the staff are almost too all over you (some would consider this excellent service, but we thought it quite false), you can't do anything yourself (even if you could do it better...), and, as a consequence, end up having to tip continuously. For example, you can't park your car without using the vallet service, which cost us $35 a day, and you feel you have to tip both the person that takes the car on arrival, and collects the car on departure (even though not strictly obligatory). The pool area was lovely, though gets pretty shady early on because of the tall buildings nearby, and if you want to eat or drink anything, again, you have to shell a fortune. Also, on the Saturday night, they had a "pool party" and outside DJ playing very loud music until the early hours, which attracts a lot of well-to-do people from outside the hotel, so makes it more difficult for hotel guests to get served/get seats etc. It didn't particularly bother us, but if you wanted to have a quiet drink or get a good night's sleep, or have small children, and a room overlooking the pool, you might have been a little annoyed... All in all, this was not our sort of hotel, and would not recommend it, but we can see how other people like it. We would have preferred to stay somewhere more down to earth, better value for money, but still luxurious. I am sure those places exist. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you were not able to enjoy yourself.

We do have a lively bar scene on the weekends, and try out best to block families on the opposite from the pool area. The DJ is only on the weekends when we cater more to a leisure client who is looking for a fun environment.

We train our staff to be attentive as we do not want anyone to wait for service. I am sorry if it appeared to be too much.

The parking rate is the same for all the area hotels as space is a premium in Santa Monica.

Again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as the other guests who have posted reviews. Should you wish to stay with us again, please contact me directly to look after your reservations.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had a business trip in Santa Monica and stayed two nights at The Viceroy. The hotel is very chic, and seems to cater to the 20 to 30 something crowd. There seems to be an overload of designer furniture in the lobby, and the rooms, although quite nice, seem crowded as well. I had a room overlooking the pool area, and in the evening that area becomes a bar. The music was a bit loud and guests were partying it up till 3 am, on a Monday night! G

Room Tip: Poolside may not be the quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePutnikovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We take your feedback seriouslt and for the manner in which it was given. We do take noise complaints seriously and act quickly to rectify them whether its by the pool or an adjacent room, we do try to correct asap!

I hope you will come see us again.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing