We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, OH
1 review
“Always great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Viceroy a few times over the few years. My choice to return is based on the reasonable price of the rooms relative to those in the area and the outstanding service relative to the those expensive hotels. The trendy bar and pool scene make for good people watching. The restaurant is very good. The decor is lovely and the bathrooms are roomy. Overall, a great deal in Santa Monica by the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    362
    163
    66
    36
See reviews for
250
531
83
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Upon arriving, was greeted by friendly efficient staff who welcomed us with champagne and the car was taken away for parking and the cases taken to our rooms. Nothing was too much trouble and the car was promptly brought out again upon our departure. The room was clean and large with a lovely queen sized bed. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Santa Monica beach. We only could stay for a couple of days and therefore could not take advantage of the pool but would definitely love to be able to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

When I arrived in Santa Monica I was suffering from jet lag, I went into your restaurant for breakfast and a wonderful lady called Zana was there as at this point my husband had not arrived, Zana took me in hand and gave me a lot of compassion, made sure I was okay and that I was eating correctly, this she did this for the first two days till my husband arrived . Zana has impeccable customer service and compassion nothing is a problem or a bother.she went out of her way to meet my husband also when we came to breakfast. also when my husband did arrive he was in fact quite ill with the flu, it was late at night and Sean was at the desk, Sean was very kind as he sent up to our room tea with lemon and honey for two plus some orange juice with a lovely note hopeing that my husband would feel better soon. we are both in business and I have been in customer service for over 40 years and I have never seen anything like this before. congratulations Viceroy for employing such devoted people. we will return.
sue and rob Riddell (melbourne) Australia.

Room Tip: didnet use spa so hard to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

A great little hotel in a perfect location in Santa Monica. Gracious and helpful staff particularly the concierge who recommended the weekly food trucks as a fun night out which we really enjoyed. The room was decorated in a fun and quirky manner which we loved, nice brand of room amenities, wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to try other Viceroy properties.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevegne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at the Viceroy with my family, including husband, son, mother inlaw and father inlaw. So we had 2 rooms, the rooms were nice and well designed. But the staff were generally awful and useless. We spent over $799 on the first two days which included 2 breakfast abd a evening meal oh and parking which is $33 a day! The food was not great and the staff were pretty useless! Giving a boiling hot plate to a 1 year old
We were there for Easter and the resturant was closed for a special Easter brunch, we saw the staff laying the buffer out it looked great but we were told it was fully booked, We had been staying at the hotel for 4 days and using the lobby and resturant a lot and not once had we been told about this event. Not very loyal at all. The pool looks fab in the pics, one of the reasons we book the hotel. But unfortunately it is pretty small and gets nearly zero sun due to the hotel and trees towering over it. The beds in the shaded gazebos areas are gross stained with god knows what and generally damp and not very nice. And when the tiny areas of the pool do get sun everyone tries to squeeze in. Generally rude and unhelpful staff, apart the men at the front door and a lady waitress. I would reccomend Shutters instead, as the staff and pool seem way more inviting.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkmeouttoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Checkmeouttoday-

I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience. I wish you would have asked for me or a member of my management team so we could have made this right for you.

Easter was very busy and we are sorry that you were not able to join us. We had such an overwhelming request for reservations we were a little surprised ourselves how popular it turned out to be. We did have messaging in each guest room, and in the check at the restuarant. I am sorry that you were not personally advised while dining.

As for the condition of the cushions, we replace them every year. In fact they are being re-covered this week. Any moisture was from the dew and fog we had overnight.

Again we wish you would have addressed your concerns with us in person rather than in this somewhat opaque manner where we do not have any way to make it up to you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

A short walk downhill to the beach. Rooms are great as the photos show, but the chill factor is at the pool-side. A nice wee library - an unusual touch ... Well recommended.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Plain and simple this is a great hotel. The rooms were perfect...spotless and sizable. The staff was a+. Very friendly and very helpful throughout. Hotel has good vibes and sexy in that beach way (some of the other, larger hotels in Santa Monica feel like convention type hotels - the Viceroy feels very indie).

The pool was perfect. Not a ton of seats, but the weather was so-so, so I never had trouble finding a chair.

Bedding was great. Amazing mattress, linens, etc...

Would absolutely stay here again. Only a few things you should know - (i.e. the reason I gave 4 not 5 stars):
-I am a caffeine addict. If you are looking for an afternoon cup of joe, you will have to leave the hotel or order one from the restaurant which is not super convenient or quick. Not the worst thing, but kind of a pain. It's a 20 minute ordeal.
-The hotel does not have a store or a place to grab essentials like magazines, aspirin, etc...be sure to bring your own or be prepared to walk a few blocks.
-Mini bar was more Mariott than hip/trendy. Not a biggie...but kind of weird.
-This hotel is not on the beach. Again, not a big deal, but if you leave your window open at night you will hear highway noise and not beach waves. Just an FYI...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalaypokerplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing