We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stop after my wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was married on 3/23 in Palm Desert and before returning to St. Louis my bride and I stayed at the Viceroy for a Sunday night on our own away from all of our families that traveled to California to celebrate our big day. The weather was a bit stormy in Santa Monica, but our service at the Viceroy made up for the rain.

First off, when we walked in a model shoot was occurring in the lobby. After moving past the shoot, we made it to check in and were greeted warmly. As we were making conversation with the gentleman at the front desk I mentioned that we had just been married 2 days earlier. We were promptly given Champagne while being checked in. We had already reserved an ocean view room, but were upgraded to a suite on the top floor. At this point we were already extremely happy with our hotel choice.

Later in the evening after getting ready to go out for dinner, we heard a knock at the door and a desert plate was delivered to our room compliments of the hotel. Three different deserts that were all fantastic.

The room was beautiful. A huge bathroom, comfy robes and a comfortable bed. The sun even came out for a few hours right before sunset. That gave us the view that we were hoping to see of the ocean.. As mentioned before, we stayed on a Sunday night, so there was no loud music at night, so sleeping was easy.

It was too cool to be at the pool, but the area looks really cool. Another model shoot was going on the morning before we left.

The location is great. The people are great. The rooms are great. Staying here was a great end to a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are pretty cool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
There are newer reviews for Viceroy Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Viceroy. Very pretty pool area even though it was too cold to actually use it. Decoration was very interesting and you can't beat the location. Friendly staff good bar and the champagne during check in is a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triprocrastinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Loved the Viceroy. Location was excellent--easy access to anything LA. Not sure how to describe the decor--sort of trendy/eclectic, but very cool. The hotel has a comfortable yet elegant feel to it. The outside courtyard/pool area was gorgeous. We were just disappointed that it was too cool to enjoy it! Our room faced the ocean and despite being right on the main drag in Santa Monica, it was relatively quiet. The bathroom was beautiful--a huge shower and lots of space for all our stuff. Service was great from the concierge to the valet parkers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a lovely surprise the Viceroy turned out to be! Thinking it would be the poor cousin of Shutters (it sits right behind it on Ocean Avenue), I was happily surprised to find that it's absolutely lovely. We were immediately welcomed at check-in with 2 glasses of champagne. Nice touch!

The decor is very South Beach-y. The lobby is filled with white chaise lounges and the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The gym is small but very user friendly with sliding doors that bring in a beautiful breeze. The outdoor pool and restaurant area is gorgeous. The best part is that the attitude is welcoming and comfortable. There are no ridiculous price tags attached to the cabanas and brunch was priced as any restaurant would be. We usually stay at the Mondrian in West Hollywood which is a TOTAL scene. If you're looking for a NORMAL and RELAXED vibe, the Viceroy is the place.

A special shout out to the BEST concierge ever, James. He was able to hone in on exactly what we wanted and sent us to great places.

Just 2 negative comments: a full-length mirror in the rooms, please! There is plenty of space for that, AND coffee service on Sundays should NOT end by 10:00!!! That's too early!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jll1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I lived in LA for 25 years and moved to Australia. I visit LA once a year and have stayed at The Viceroy many times. The Viceroy's service is exceptional, the staff fabulous and in addition to the lovely rooms - most importantly - a great bathroom. I would not stay anywhere else in LA. The location is great, easy to get in and out of. I stayed in another hotel in Santa Monica a couple of years ago and will not stray again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybee432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel in LA. The level is service is unbeatable and you're only one block from the beach! What else can you wish for?

Rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the entire hotel. The staff are all extremely friendly and willing to help with any questions or tasks. The concierge had the ins and outs for the best places to eat and could get us in anywhere we wanted.

I will be returning to the Viceroy on my next trip to LA and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting LA. Santa Monica is one of the best places to get away from the hasty lifestyle most people live in other parts of LA.

Special thanks to Acquah who went above and beyond to help me and answer all my questions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Viceroy is superb to say the least. The food was good, the service was impeccable and signature cocktails were amazing. The night I stayed "unfortunately" it rained, therefore I didn't get to enjoy the spacious patio. The patio/pool is off the hook btw.... Next time I plan on staying more than 1 night in order to enjoy it all. It was an early anniversary for us. THAKS VICEROY!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cigar Gents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,603 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,068 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $397 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing