We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Posh Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Perfect location...close enough to highway but yet right on the ocean. Walking distance to the Pier, Promenade and restaurants. Rooms were upscale and clean. Perfect value for the cost. Staff was very well trained. This is the place to be if you want great value and service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hotel is great. Right in the middle of Main Street and the Santa Monica Pier so you can easily get to everything. It's not crowded and overrun like bigger places and trendy so you can find plenty of night action at the hotel bar if you don't want to leave. The staff was one of the friendliest I have experience in a long time and every time I called down for something they were immediately at my door to address any issues I had.

Room Tip: The ocean side was great but you could definitely hear the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Viceroy Santa Monica and it was even better this time!
The hotel staff went out of there way to be of assistance, they even were able to book a massage (with very little advance notice) at a nearby spa which was OUTSTANDING!!
I used the hotel fitness room and found it to be fully equipped with everything that I needed.
We had dinner in the restaurant and I am still dreaming about the meyer lemon dessert.
We will definitely stay at the Viceroy on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighp492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I absolutely adore the Viceroy Santa Monica. Whenever I go to LA for work, I have to stay at the Viceroy! Not only is it a gorgeous hotel with incredibly unique design features, the staff is incredibly courteous, the rooms spotless and the valets retrieve your car in less than 5 minutes! I was upgraded to ocean view upon arrival after a seamless, incredibly fast check-in process, was given a complementary glass of champagne and even checked on to assure all was to my liking. I love the Viceroy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend, and the experience was lovely. Every guest is treated as a VIP, and the hotel itself was stunning. Situated just one block from the beach, we felt we were close to everything you needed to really enjoy Santa Monica... the ocean, the shops, the restaurants. The staff was exceptional. The hotel filled up quite a bit at night, which I thought may be disruptive to sleeping (our room faced the pool), but that wasn't the case. I would definitely recommend this hotel... be sure and have a glass of wine in the "library/lounge" just to the left of the pool doors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank april78701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I simply loved it. Valet parking is perfect, staff at reception very helpfull and friendly. I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Food was really good. The detail that bothered me a lot was that at the restaurant they add a 15% gratuity to the check. I know that foreign client tend not to pay the tipps but I found that at least they could have informed me. I

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmt_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

If you're going to Santa Monica The Viceroy couldn't be better.

Viceroy staff are friendly, helpful, courteous. The rooms are large. Very stylish lobby, pool area and bar. The beach is about 3 minutes away.

A GREAT choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photogirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Photgirl1-
Thank you so much for the kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,967 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
995 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $355 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing