We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous decor but could be a bit rowdy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous decor but could be a bit rowdy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel is seriously plush and the decor is both unique and beautiful. Like nothing I've ever seen in the US. Our room was equally gorgeous - but I was glad it was on the fifth floor because the hotel has a nightclub on the ground floor which attracts lots of glitzy/glamourous people (so, not a seedy club) but it GOES OFF between the hours of midnight and 5am! We could hear a tiny bit of partying going on but not enough to keep us awake. The next day however, when we were down enjoying the most spectacularly delicious brunch (treat yourself - it's soooo worth it!) there was a couple there saying that they were lodging a formal complaint because they had not slept a wink because of the partying. They were a young couple and had been given a night at the hotel as a gift by their inlaws so that they could have a rest after recently having their first baby so they were doubly upset! So, on that basis - ask to stay on one of the higher floors (5 and up) and if you can wangle it, get a ocean view. The hotel grounds - pool and cocktail bar area are just divine and I would recommend it to people. PS. 'Whist' is a great local restaurant overlooking the ocean... enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room from 5th floor upwards to avoid the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurojules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you very much for yor review. Sounds as though you had a great time despite the DJ and whatnot. We do have a reputation of having fun on the weekends. We wil lnever dsipute that, but we do limit our DJ;s to Saturday night or for special occasions and events. Sunday through Thursday the hotel is much more sedate.

Thanks for the review!
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    380
    172
    68
    38
See reviews for
265
552
87
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Had an amazing stay for a mix of business and pleasure at the Viceroy. I spend a lot of time online, so doing a little work while relaxing in the cabanas by the pool was really perfect for me. I ordered lots of coffee (which was excellent considering I'm from Seattle), and followed that with cocktails.
My girlfriend and I really had a great time, and the Viceroy really had a lot to do with that.

Room Tip: As high up as you can be facing the ocean :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterRyanHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at Viceroy for a wedding and barely even left the hotel. We rented a cabana at the pool one day and stayed there for hours. Breakfast and dinners at the restaurant were top quality. We were a quick walk to great shopping on Main St. in Venice as well as the Santa Monica promenade. It was the perfect location. There was a high profile party going on one night which made it fun for people that like to see celebrities. The service was great as well because they let us check in at 11:00am and even extended us a late check out on our departure date. The decor is truly fun, hip and very stylish. Even though you are not directly on the beach(it's about a 5 minute walk), this is still my favorite hotel in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: You have the option of ocean or pool side view. BOTH are great. The pool is beautiful to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review and I certainly hope you can escape Seattle again soon and enjoy the Viceroy and Santa Monica again soon!

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We decided to stay at a hotel last minute and the Viceroy took care of us like we had been staying with them for years. It was New Year's Eve and we were given complimentary champagne upon arrival, helped with our bags and room service was super quick even though it was very busy. The decor was amazing and we loved the comfort and style of the bedroom and the bathroom - loved the Neil George shampoo and body wash. So happy we rang in 2012 while staying at the Viceroy - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
OhKristen-
Thank you for the kind words! We were happy we could "squeeze" you in as you know it was a huge success and one for the record books! Please let me know the next time you are coming to stay with us as I would love to say hello in person!

Happy New Year!
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

On our way back from a US trade show to the UK - only an overnight stay but I wish it had been longer. Great venue, great food and great staff who went the extra mile. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Please make sure you make time next trip to enjoy the hotel a little longer! Thank you for the nice review.

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Excellent hotel and wonderful stay. The hotel amenities and location were wonderful and the staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lSup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Isup-
Thank you and we enjoyed having you. Hope you welcome you back in the very near future!

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Having stayed previously at the Viceroy in Palm Springs, we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. It may be considered expensive, but if you can't afford it you don't go!! it is lively and vibrant with an excellent restaurant and a bar that "buzzes". Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff who cannot do enough for you, especially James Vierra, the Concierge, who went out of his way to ensure our stay was pleasurable and that we didn't miss anything of interest. The location is superb, just a short walk to the beach/ocean front, Santa Monica pier, the shopping mall and 3rd Street Promenade. The decor is amazing both in the public areas and also in the bedroom. Although there is no free WiFi, free internet access is available in the delightful yellow library room. The outside facilites, two pools and various cabanas looked really inviting but with rain and cold weather in LA, sadly we didn't get chance to enjoy them this time - BUT - we will be back!!

Room Tip: An ocean view room is really nice and worth the extra to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Roamingroto-
Thank you for the very inclusive review. I shared your comments with the team and especially about James our Concierge. We did in fact single him out for special praise in our monthly meeting yesterday. We are very proud to have him on our team!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing