We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in LA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Viceroy is amazing!! Decor and feel of the hotel is very unique; what I would describe as modern elegance. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Everyone was very helpful in getting our luggage to the room, checking us in, and making sure we had everything we needed. The staff even upgraded us to a ocean view room to better accomodate my three person party. I took my wedding pictures here and couldnt have asked for a better location. The pictures are beautiful!

I visited the restaurant during my stay, which has delicious food and desserts. You can stay in to eat and still get the same high quality food you would find at a 4 or 5 star restaurant. This was very convenient because I had family traveling and staying at the hotel which arrived later in the evening. We also ordered room service in the morning. I ordered the oatmeal, which was the most delicious oatmeal I've ever tasted. Not sure how they do it, but even the oatmeal is different and 5star quality!

I stayed in a suite during my stay. The room was beautiful with more unique decor like the rest of the hotel. Large TV, very comfortable bed, and the bathroom is awesome! No cramped quarters here. The shower was wonderfully large with great water pressure, thankfully no trickle of water for my showers (See Photo 4). The bathroom even has a stool and area for putting on makeup in the morning (see Photo 3).

Everything during my stay at Viceroy was wonderful. It is the BEST hotel in LA and the best hotel I've ever stayed at! I highly recommend this hotel for a great experience!! Thanks Viceroy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and upper floors will have a nice view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_ningyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    373
    168
    68
    37
See reviews for
260
545
86
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

A pretty hotel with warm and modern touches. The pool area is nice, and I like that the pools are heated. The staff is really stupid though. They can not help with ANYTHING, and they're so confused.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that you felt our staff was unable to assist you with whatever situation it was you were trying to get help with. I stand behind the 160 employees that deliver exceptional service on a daily basis.

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I've stayed at the Viceroy twice now and couldn't be happier with my new favorite LA hotel. Though I live in Manhattan, I grew up in Los Angeles, so have looked for a hotel I can frequent that feels like it is for locals, and sophisticated travelers rather than tourists- with an element of style to it- though not at the expense of good service. The Viceroy is that perfect hybrid. The hotel is well-staffed, reasonably priced, ideally situated and cool without trying too hard. I love the rooms- the decor, the size is decent, killer views, the pool area, the lobby is clubby but restrained, and unlike some other hotels (Chateau, Standard, etc) no whiff of attitude from the staff or other guests. You won';t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room. Those facing the pool can be a bit loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We are here to please. Thank you for the kind words and look forward to having you back at your new home away from home!

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We walked into the Viceroy for a nice night out and overnight stay in our hometown of LA for my sister's bachelorette party...
And from the minute we got out of the car we were pampered, well-attended to, and made to feel totally relaxed - but in a posh, upscale environment! Wow, maybe you'd think the place is full of snobs...but in fact, the staff is so welcoming and attentive that they put you right at ease in a fantastically hip location!
The rooms were stunning, the food was delicious, the ambiance was perfect! We'll go back every chance we get!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
i am so happy we were able to show you a good time. Please make a point of staying with us again on your next trip to LA!
Regards,

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Viceroy is a wonderful hotel -- great location, terrific staff, and extremely comfortable rooms. The staff is very accommodating and helpful with directions and recommendations in the area. The place has a terrific California vibe -- great energy and fun! SE

Room Tip: Wonderful ocean views in many of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
I am very pleased to hear you had a great stay and were able to experience our truly helpful staff. Thank you for the post and come see us again soon!

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

i recently stayed at the viceroy and decided it was time to write my first online review ever. the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly (i was there for business and they were very helpful with receiving packages, making printouts, and - most importantly - a glass of champagne when i arrived!) the space is great, love the design, location and room/amenities. i'll be back asap - for business or with my family. a great spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Viceroy is one of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in. Great location, incredibly friendly staff, and great food. I actually look forward to traveling for work when I am staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Regards,

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing