We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Ambrose”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved the Ambrose”
Reviewed January 2, 2006

The Ambrose is a special place. The rooms are nice, the bed was so comfortable. It is what we expected after our search for information. The breakfast bar was ample. The Koi pond needs a couple more Koi and was very pleasant. We did not use the gym or the English taxi but they are available. I will recommend the Ambrose to my family. We were there for Christmas eve. Best meal was at the Lobster Restaurant at the pier. Reservations needed.

Helpful?
4 Thank eltour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    421
    126
    52
    45
See reviews for
309
296
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed at The Ambrose for four nights leading up to New Year and had a wonderful stay! The hotel was beautiful, tastefully furnished and very comfortable! The staff were also very helpful - especially Alex & Max. The only addition this hotel needs is a small bar as it would have been nice to have a beer/glass of wine, by the fire! Do note that the hotel is 20 minutes walk from Third St/Santa Monica Pier

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank leighrmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2005

We stayed in the Ambrose for only one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was excellent -- we were wishy-washy about our room, and they took everything in good-humoured stride. The rooms themselves were perfect (our first room was near some neighbours playing loud music), especially the bathroom: separate shower and tub, frette linens, water closet. Sheets and bed were divine, decor excellent. Staff was nearly perfect -- after checking out, we went for a walk in the neighbourhood and were caught in a downpour. We called the Ambrose, and they quickly sent their London Black Cab to fetch us from the Fairmont and bring us back to our car in the basement of the Ambrose. Be sure to indulgence in the complimentary breakfast -- no stale bagels here.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank biz_tripper08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2005

I travel to Santa Monica once a month, 10 months of the year and stay at the Ambrose 3 nights every time. It's like going to my home away from home. I particularly enjoy the helpful, friendly staff, retreat-like setting with intimate garden and water feature; upscale, yet, homey guest rooms; abundance of fresh fruit at breakfast; cruising bikes to take a spin to the Pacific Coast bike path and the convenient location close to USM, shops and the beach. Thanks, Ambrose -- for making my grad. schools trips to Santa Monica like retreats!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 22, 2005

My husband and I were at a loss when planning hotel accommodations for our wedding weekend in early November. All the large Oceanfront hotels were booked due to a popular annual convention in the area. After researching available options, we selected the Ambrose Hotel.
Although quite a few blocks from the ocean, the Ambrose Hotel seemed to have all the components we were looking for. Its location is walking distance to several restaurants and hip spots in Santa Monica. Regardless, as particular people, we were hesitant to select a smaller hotel for our important event.
The Ambrose is a relatively new establishment; Clean, tastefully decorated, and quaint. There are no garish patterns or decadent halls - the Ambrose has a quiet, peaceful, zen-like decor.
Apart from the extreme comfort we felt at the Ambrose, from the totally comfortable beds to the clean carpet to the excellent breakfast buffet (complete with fresh berries and Starbucks coffee), the service alone stood out as exemplary.
Once the hotel was informed that we were getting married during our stay at the Ambrose, the staff took every effort to satisfy our needs, going far beyond what any other establishment has ever done for us. They provided us with privacy, greeted us with smiles, and showed the utmost concern for our comfort. The Manager provided us with his on-call cellular# in the event that we needed assistance and he was unavailable.
The list of favors that were granted us is too long to cite here, however we are eternally grateful to the Ambrose for their expert handling of us as customers, and their attention to our guests.
We will return to the Ambrose on Anniversaries to come, and we hope that others share our positive experience.
Tip: There seem to be (2) master suites that include fireplaces - try and book one of these Premier rooms, as the fireplace is outside on a large veranda, and the bathroom is gigantic. Amazing

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 19, 2005

I recently stayed at the Ambrose Hotel, Santa Monica with my husband and teenage daughter. The hotel rooms were very well appointed and extremely clean. I found all the staff to be very friendly. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very satisfying and consisted of fresh fruit, cereals and fresh bakery items. The Hotel is about a 20 min walk from the main shopping area and the beach this didn't worry us as the local bus line was only 1 block away. We were glad we stayed at Santa Monica because the area had alot more appeal to us than the general outskirts of Los Angeles. If we return to Santa Monica I would happliy stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2005

My wife and I stayed 5 nights (Nov. 20-25, '05) at The Ambrose while visiting our son nearby and we will stay there anytime we come to Santa Monica. I don't know what hotel the folks who wrote the awful reviews of this hotel were staying at, but their experiences were nothing like ours: The design and style of the hotel are just as advertised -- simple, classic ("Zen") Asian-toned. The common areas are stylish, comfortable and well-maintained. The Zen garden, viewed from the Library common area and from all rooms on the West side, is delightful. The desk and room staff are friendly and professional. The daily Continental breakfast (coffee/tea, pastry, toast, cold cereal, yogurt, fruit) is fresh and tasty -- if you want/expect a full hot breakfast, go down to Wilshire Bvd. to one of the restaurants there. Our room (No. 204, facing West) was clean, stylish, and comfortable, with plenty of storage space and a spacious bathroom, with robes (although as others have said, the shower water pressure is barely adequate -- not unlike many hotels'). The bed was very comfortable, the bed linens high-quality (not thin or "holey" as one review claimed), the t.v./dvd/sound system first-rate. The Ambrose, however, is more than the sum of its parts: the overall atmosphere is one of a comfortable, classy place with a professional staff that attends to details -- as can perhaps be seen from its clientele, who appeared to be well-to-do but down-to-earth folks who knew how to find a gem of a hotel that didn't overcharge for what it offers (including several actors we recognized at breakfast). If you like style, professionalism, and comfort -- but don't want your wallet gouged in the process -- The Ambrose is where you should stay in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing