We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cozy, quaint and very friendly. I loved how every single person who worked there greeted the guests and each other with smiles, hellos, good mornings, etc. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that they are still working through some renovation issues. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We couldn't have said it better... Trish !

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my 4th stay - have the best breakfast, nice rooms, good decor and free bikes to use. Nice location to beach and promenade - about 8-10 blocks. Quiet area - near hospital but never heard noise. Always friendly service.



  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you, Susan S from Houston so much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We appreciate your return visits. Please be sure to ask for our BEST GUEST "repeat" discounts on future stays.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our recent stay at The Ambrose was great! Hillary was so nice and helpful over the phone booking our reservation. Location and parking are great. Breakfast is very nice. Rooms are very clean. Loved the hard wood floors and terrace. Great stay! Looking forward to another stay at The Ambrose.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you Kristen M from Phoenix so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff, location and facilities (including self-parking which is essential in the area) deserve an outstanding ranking. However, the quality of the included breakfast is a negative. Too many pastries, muffins, and sweet offerings and a deficiency of healthy offerings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ColoGuy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your complete satisfaction about our continental breakfast.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean with a continental breakfast, rooms are cool and chic we were there for a Surgical Procedure where I would be overnight and my husband would be able to be close by the staff was very attentive and compassionate, we could not have asked for more. Thank-you Ambrose, we hope you appreciate your TEAM!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 205Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. We all wish you a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We are enjoying our stay at The Ambrose. It is clean and offers a nice continental breakfast plus free wireless. Last night we discovered the hotel shuttle, which made our dinner outing really easy. The driver Chad Van had great tips about local restaurants and was up-beat. He drove us safely to the restaurant and picked us up quickly when we were ready to return. For five stars, I would recommend (1) cushions for the deck furniture on the veranda, (2) more seating and tables for guests at breakfast; and (3) new toilet seats.

Room Tip: I recommend reserving a room with a veranda. The evenings are warm and it is nice to sit outside at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rockymkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my second time to stay at the Ambrose. Both times have been very good experiences. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Ambrose is in a nice location with many good places to eat in walking distance. The only complaint that I have is that they were fully booked for some of the times I have wanted to stay there. The other places I stayed in the area were disappointing after the Ambrose.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stays at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,965 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $284 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing