We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in Santa Monica”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“A hidden gem in Santa Monica”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our third stay at The Ambrose. Both beeing expats in Asia and used to 5 star hotels this is exactly the hotel you are always looking looking for - A hidden gem in Santa Monica! The contemporary Asian design, combined with authentic and highly personalized service.
It is in walking distance from the beaches and medical centre at Santa Monica Boulevard. The hotel offer a shuttle service but is is just as easy to get a taxi or hop on a bus taking you down to the beach in minutes. Simple and nice breakfast in the morning plus room service. Wholefood around the corner! Most of all you feel like a local instead of a turist!

Green Features: Read about The Ambrose Hotel's environmentally friendly Practices
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Karina T so much for your positive feedback about your stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We appreciate your loyal return in coming back to us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    421
    126
    52
    45
See reviews for
309
296
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had little knowledge of The Ambrose but took a chance. My visit, albeit brief was delightful. To start with, the front desk manager Linda, was so warm and welcoming. She set just the right tone for my stay and even offered to sew my dangling blazer button within moments of my arrival. Situated about 20 blocks from the beach, it made for a healthy walk to and from, but I enjoyed the walk and taking in the sights. In hindsight, I was glad it wasn't in the hustle & bustle of the beach area. It proved to be a bit of a sanctuary.

The hotel itself, although showing some age (e.g. warn floors) is still a gem. Relaxing and well appointed. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home or best friend's house.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Ambrose, but more importantly your Associate Christian, was outstanding at your front desk. She was friendly and helpful, and her attitude was extremely pleasant. On a couple of occasions, I had to refer to the front desk for a number of requests. She was great in so many ways. Thorough and complete in her responses and taking care of my requests, all the while smiling and talkative.

The hotel was very clean,nice and I enjoyed the room, the surround and the ease to get to restaurants and the freeways. Breakfast was wonderful for a continental breakfast!

Thanks for a great stay,
Diane

Green Features: You can even drink the water right from the faucet!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Diane S. for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.
We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I were sent to this hotel for her business training for a week. Not know anything of the area or the city, let alone the hotel that was booked for us. We we're pleasantly surprised beginning the moment we arrived through its architectural sequenced entry. The scale of this hotel is proportioned intimately and that sets the tone of the attitude you receive from its management and staff. After 4 days of staying, we felt right at home.

Todd (the GM) and his crew will take good care of you and will accommodate whatever need you see fit. For example, our stay began around 9 am and check-in wasn't until 3pm, but they serviced our room ASAP and we were into our room around 10:30am. Following that, we had a late flight that departed around 9pm, but checkout time is 12pm. With time to burn, the Ambrose still provided all their customer amenities while we waited for our later flight, including letting us use the hotel shuttle to cruise around town and calling us a luxury Town Car when it was time to depart.

We made some good acquaintances on our visit, specifically José, one of their evening shuttle drivers. He was always a treat to chat with to and from our evening destinations. We hope to make it back to this hotel, whether it's for a stay or even just to say "hi" to the staff. We enjoyed it and we know you will too!

~the Kansas Couple

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchman1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Please contact me direct for any future returns for our BEST GUEST Program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been a returning guest at this hotel for about ten years. Although some of the carpets and furnishings are getting a bit old, the place is immaculate and the beds are very comfortable. The new manager, Todd, with whom I've had many long critical chats, has made a few very needed changes to the services and amenities. I welcome what he's done so far and look forward to the future promised renovations. I'll always be angry about paying for parking (although it's much less than nearby hotels) but change is inevitable and I'm learning to accept it. The front desk staff is top notch-professional, friendly and helpful. SheeNa and Linda are my go to people when I need something. They always have a solution. All the staff from Guillermo who seems to do just about everything to the housekeeping women are all friendly and helpful. I've stayed at many of Santa Monica's hotels and keep going back to The Ambrose because it feels like home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you, foodierd... for your positive review and comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose hotel - Santa Monica.

Our most loyal repeat guest's frequently tell us that our hotel and accommodations are like their own home. That is the " medal of honor " in the hotel world !!!

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

We really appreciate you... your wonderful family and look forward to serving your accommodations for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would definitely return. Architecture and furnishings were very attractive and timeless. Service was very good. Hotel was clean. Breakfast buffet was not huge but we were very pleased by the quality of the baked goods. Great location closed to stores and the pier in Santa Monica (20 blocks). Very relaxing. Nice place to return to at the end of the day. The only minor demerit would be for an old TV. It worked fine but we have gotten so used to the crisp picture of the flat screen that it didn't seem up to the standard of the rest of the place. Also, no movie channel but there is a DVD player. I'd rather go to Redbox anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankehort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California
" vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

From the moment my party of 4 walked into this hotel and were greeted by Linda, we were in love with this hotel. Linda was very busy up front, but she took the time to make us feel special and to give us a detailed map of all the things we wanted to see and or felt we would want to see. She is the hotel's best asset by far. Granted everyone else was very kind and helpful, but not like Linda. I truly believe she loves her job as it shows so much.

The breakfasts were terrific. We had planned on going out to eat, but never did. They had fresh baked goodies of all sorts, fresh fruit, yogurts, juices, breads and it was all very good.

We had room service a couple of times while there and was never disappointed in the food nor the service. They even deliver your ice to you. The service is fast and accurate and always served with a smile.

I will gladly return to this hotel when in the area and highly recommend it. You will feel special and I feel that is important.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

We are so pleased that Linda was able to exceed your expectations and deliver 5 Star Service !

Your comments will be shared with our entire Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing