We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of this so-called upscale hotel”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacloban, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beware of this so-called upscale hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Am a business traveler, spending 3 nights weekly in all the major hotels. This hotel was thought to be an upscale, boutique type of hotel. hmmmmm... well, sort of.

Linens and toilettries are top notch. Secure parking is available... for a price.

That's about all that I have to say about it being good.

B'fast... same hard, crunchy pastries every day on the cold-buffet type of b'fast line. There was absolutely no variation across the 3 days I spent there in March.

The same pastries are what's set out for a snack later in the afternoon... even up thru the evening hours. Leftovers, I assume.

Keycard was validated only for 2 days, instead of 3... causing me to have to make 4 trips to my room before the desk clerk figured out how to properly re-activate it.

I was "upgraded" to a 4th floor room. "Very nice, you'll love it." Ha! Am not joking... EVERY night for 3 nights in a row there was vehicle traffic in the alley below... either delivery trucks, or garbage trucks, or something with backup alarms, hydraulics, etc. that awoke me anywhere from 2am-5:30am, every night.

On checkout, I stood at desk and waiting on desk person making another guest's car rental res. The desk person actually read ALOUD, over the phone, the name, the card #, the exp. date, and the security code, to the res. agent... while I was standing there. Wish I had a pencil with me! The data security at this hotel is now questionable.

Nice ambience, nice bed linens and toiletries... but service is sorely lacking and the b'fast is NOT something to be relied upon for a way to start your day.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the busy streets, or the alley.. but that doesn't leave much at this hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't be fooled by this category...when you pay $250-ish/night, who cares?
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your overall satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

Please reach out to me directly at gm@ambrosehotel.com for further follow up on your stay.

We certainly welcome both positive and critical comments in order for us to achieve the highest levels of guest stay experiences.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    422
    127
    52
    45
See reviews for
310
298
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Ambrose for 3 nights in January 2014 - our second stay having spent some time here on honeymoon in 2010.

The hotel was just as we remembered - quite and calm in a nice residential area. Feels miles away from LA and the beach, in a good way (in reality a 5-10 minute drive down to the heart of Santa Monica). Staff are always helpful and friendly, and breakfast is a treat.

A couple of niggles however - the hotel is starting to look a little tired around the edges (we were informed that a refurb is imminent), and the $20 per night parking charge seemed a little on the steep side for a hotel guest.

We hope to visit again when the works are completed to experience the new look Ambrose!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenjcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our repeat guest's frequently tell us that our hotel and accommodations like their own home.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Ask for the "repeat" guest discounts on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Ambrose immensely: beautifully serene surroundings, a feeling of relaxed elegance, all in all an oasis in hectic So Cal. And what made the sojourn especially positive was the staff, particularly Linda at the front desk whose gracious style, helpful local knowledge and care and concern were a real plus.

Room Tip: Upstairs roms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our staff, including Linda, strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I love this hotel. We started staying here shortly after it opened and have never waivered. We lived in Santa Monica until 2000. I come back often for business and medical reasons. We are often here for a week or more and find the central location is perfect. We do not rent a car anymore and are able to walk to most places, otherwise the hotel's car and driver, taxi or limo work well.

Ownership of the hotel changed a couple of years back and we were apprehensive. There have been some minor changes, mostly positive, new people, uniformly positive, and a new energy. I cannot name everyone that make this a great hotel but Alfred, Jose, Linda, Maria, George and Hillary from before the ownership change are among the ones working very hard to maintain its quality. Also, Sheena, Thomas, Nida (?) and others are quality additions. I cannot say enough about the staff. Breakfast is great with healthy options and a mouth-watering variety of pastries. I don't use the gym although I see many who do. The same is true of the meeting room and business center. The rating for the areas below are inadequate. The "Swimming Pool" is not terrible. It is just not. The same is true for "Restaurant," breakfast is very good and we do not use the room service options but there is no restaurant as such..

Room Tip: Room 304 has a great terrace and is nice for small gatherings. Rooms 430 (very large) and 431 (sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emccartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our repeat guest's tell us they frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your comments make it worth all the effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We discovered The Ambrose about 8 years ago and have returned about 5 times with our family. We loved the fact that we found a 'home away from home' hotel nestled in a residential area. We had a lovely room in the past and cited our preference and it was always respected. This time however, we got a smaller room- disappointing

The hotel is showing its age and I understand it will thankfully be undergoing a renovation in the near future. The parking charge of $20 is a new and not welcome change. Although I understand the difficulty with non-hotel occupants using the system as it was, I don't know why the hotel card does not suffice to dissuade misuse with the new card activated gate and we need to pay.

The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh berries overflowing every morning. We were there six days and watched as the fruit bowl changed from all berries to apples and bananas. Given the fact you can buy strawberries at the side of the PCH, I wasn't sure why the supply was not replenished.

The cleaning staff left our ironing board out for four days. I used it on Monday morning and found it was still there every day until we departed. I left it there to see if anyone would bother to put it away. I don't think this is petty, I think it speaks to the apathy of the cleaning staff. They would actually have to work around it to clean the room!! As we were four people sharing what was already a small room, space was at a premium. In the past, we have had impeccable housekeeping service.

I loved the Aveda products that the hotel used to use. Now the toiletry items are a mismatch of different companies.

The TV's are a real issue. Given the development of technology, I can only hope that the renovations will include better TV's and an ability to turn the TV to facilitate viewing from other angles instead of straight ahead.

All in all, although we LOVED the old Ambrose, we have mixed feelings about the new Ambrose. After so many years, we are actually looking into our other options in Santa Monica. It's too bad. Maybe the renovations will change things so I can give it the full five stars it used to be?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

Our renovation plans will address the areas that you had mentioned with new and exciting changes for the hotel.

For your return trip, please ask for the " repeat " guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in the hotel Valentine's day weekend. It is located 20 blocks from the beach. However, the hotel offered shuttle service to all points within the city. The outside of the hotel is well kept and attractive. The front desk and lobby is warm, inviting and well appointed. The corridors, elevator and room were clean and well kept. Our room was a little worn and dated, but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the lobby was casual, delicious and plentiful. The front desk staff were accommodating. However, the guy who appeared to be the manager was grumpy. He reprimanded the front desk staff in front of guests (that's a no-no).

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the court yard. It is apparently quieter than other areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rmy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Ambrose was the perfect home base for my 4 day business trip. My room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Impressive breakfast and refreshments. I was happy with the amenities and the fact it was a green hotel. I cannot stand the bleach in the linens of many hotels, this was not an issue here. I had a demanding work schedule and wanted to see as much of Santa Monica as possible. Sheena at the front desk helped maximize my free time by suggesting restaurants and sites while providing some local traffic tips.The location allowed me to easily park my rental car, visit accounts and walk to local shops. The shuttle service was also a nice perk! I cannot say enough good things about The Ambrose! I would book here again. One more thing to anyone that has food allergies, I found this location close to many options for my gluten free/dairy free/egg free diet!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your comments make it worth the efforts from all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,781 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,224 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing