We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS STAY NEVER HAPPENED!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THIS STAY NEVER HAPPENED!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed at the Ambrose Hotel at least 8 times over the past 5 years. It has been a favorite of ours and we always recommend it to friends. (Our daughter also attends Pepperdine University) However after being charged $800 for a reservation we cancelled, we will no longer be patronizing the Ambrose. Management has not made any effort to mutually resolve this situation.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradpitt124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Please contact me directly, at 310-315-3180 and ask for the General Manager.
My email is gm@ambrosehotel.com


Available, MON - FRI, 9AM - 6PM, PST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    417
    126
    52
    45
See reviews for
308
293
87
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

good service, breakfast uncomfortable in the lobby, everyone has to find a place to sit somewhere (sofa, library,...), but very good for the US, a bit worn out rooms, could be cleaner, parking for a reasonable price, therefore recommendable

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank monk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We appreciate your consideration and positive comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose hotel - Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed at the Ambrose many times over the past few years. For us, it has been the perfect trans-pacific stopover or for visiting our son at UCLA. Both the staff and the service have remained at a consistently high standard, and the breakfast is wonderful.
it has been a welcome respite from the typical hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jude225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our frequent guest's grow to find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your feedback makes it all worth the efforts !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I like the decor and delectable pastries they serve for breakfast. It's location is also quite convenient. It's quiet near the and ask for the London cab which will take you to the nice restaurants and shopping area near Third Street Promenade

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

attractive hotel, very nice , comfortable accommodations. in a quieter part of town. good breakfast with fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt. you can sit by a charming fountain outside for coffee or tea. front desk folks were very helpful and friendly. i was running late for an event and they got me into a room in a hurry. hotel looks like designers had input from frank lloyd wright. we were in two rooms. only complaint might be a little more lighting. my friend says it was a bit too dark to put on her makeup. not far from beach, restaurants, a whole foods. they will be adding a bar, and that should be a big plus. i will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: first floor rooms have patio
See more room tips
Green Features: it feels "green." and that is good. it seemed to have a a veery healthy atmosphere. a/c worked very well.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsanchez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Dirty carpet was sticky and tattered. Everything was dreary and old. The decor was mismatched and worn. No valet, no bell person, no restaurant, no ice. Poor front desk service, mildewy shower. Very pricey to suck so much. The bamboo in the alley was awesome, but failed to block the view into the apts next door. Walking distance to Whole Foods, so that was cool.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferntucky420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you. I am available to discuss all your issues at your convenience. Please reach out to me directly at gm@ambrosehotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good location in Santa Monica, while not in the beach. Pleasant staff
Excellent quality of the buffet breakfast products. Small gym but 24h open. Free wifi. Clean, spacious and confortable rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing