We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Santa Monica Option (for being off the beach)”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Santa Monica Option (for being off the beach)”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We started in a basic king room, but then upgraded to a larger room with a balcony. Well worth the extra $20/night. The balcony was HUGE- more of a patio with a fireplace. The room was comfortable, and we appreciated the eco-friendly standards. We did hear garbage trucks very early one morning... being from NYC we were used to this, but it was an unexpected wake up call at 4am.

The staff was very nice and professional, though they seemed stretched (I believe a number of them called out sick, etc.)

The continental breakfast was great. Coffee was always available in the lobby (which was more like a living room/lounge- warm and welcoming.)

Good value in comparison to beachfront luxury name hotels. There is a free shuttle that will take you anywhere in the area.

We would return here for sure.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: Important eco-friendly practices- much appreciated (by us and generations to come. :) ) Note- the lights in the bathroom take a while to brighten due to their eco-friendly bulbs.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you Emily G from NYC for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our
Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    421
    126
    52
    45
See reviews for
309
296
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My sister and I came down to LA from the Bay Area right after Christmas. We booked a room at the Ambrose last-minute and were surprised to find how convenient and comfortable it was. Though the television was "from last century," as my sister pointed out, they had HBO and every other channel in the world. The bevy of pastries and fruit in the morning, plus the intelligentsia coffee, were fabulous perks. Additionally, though we had a car, we used the car service a few times to go to the beach and spa and the whole staff was very friendly about it. So even though the direct surroundings are generally dominated by health centers and car dealerships, it's very easy to get around. We did come across some good restaurants nearby on Wilshire too. Overall, it was great, I'd do it again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which was slightly noisy at night, but I also liked sitting on the porch...
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmental practices made me feel pretty awesome, especially since all of their bath products were extra nice.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kamala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you Kamela P from Oakland for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.
We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, MI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is about 20 blocks from the beach in a nice residential area. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The breakfast is amazing--the best continental breakfast spread ever. The staff is incredibly friendly. The hotel shuttle will drive you anywhere close by. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you lbsmith from Ann Arbor MI for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the Ambrose and it was great. Easy to find, loading area for cars when you arrive. The rooms are nice and comfortable. They decor is rustic and looked inviting. Continental breakfast was included and you eat in a lovely room with a fireplace. We were there in winter but in summer you could sit outside. We had a car but utilised the free shuttle service to go to the Pier etc and saved on parking fees. We left some items behind in our safe by mistake and the staff were extremely professional about it, logging all items and the Scott, the manager was called to return the items to us. We were so grateful. We would recommend the hotel and would stay their again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you Adam S for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Everything about this hotel was great. It's a cute boutique hotel in Santa Monica about a mile walk from the beach but they offer shuttle service which was great. From the decor to the breakfast everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. A very zen and relaxing ambiance. Would definitely recommend this place and would absolutely come back.

Green Features: Love that The Ambrose is environmentally-friendly. They do a great job.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed an incredible stay at the Hotel Ambrose in Santa Monica. It is 20 blocks from the beach but the hotel offers free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (a wonderful benefit).
This hotel is a green hotel and the ambience is very zen.
The décor I found to be somewhat Craftsman in style. Very warm and soothing.
They offer a complimentary continental breakfast but it is more than just fruits, juices and bread.
They also offer throughout the day in the lounge, complimentary drinks and cookies.
The hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful (especially Alex and Thomas).
The price is half what you would pay at one of the hotels on Ocean Avenue.
I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a true gem and not one of those 200+ rooms size hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the backside of the building I found to be quieter. Rooms facing the two streets of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you Carey C of our own Los Angeles, CA for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Glad to see our Los Angeles first time guest's that find our hotel and instantly catch our relaxed culture " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was pleasant enough, rooms a good size, bathrooms get wet and slippery if shower curtain not left in the bath.
Decor is quite dated.
Breakfast is basic no protein, but nice fresh fruit.
Would stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jazamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you Jazamo for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel - Santa Monica.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Please contact us directly for our Best Guest repeat discounts on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing