We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ambrose
Nearby Hotels
$479
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$531
$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$679
$579
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$342
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$515
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$423
$373
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shutters on the Beach(Santa Monica)
$778
$740
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveler rating
631
438
132
56
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
438
132
56
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastfree parkingwhole foodsquiet neighborhoodwithin a mile radiuswilshire blvdcar servicebusiness triphome away from homelos angelesla areastay in santa monicawalgreensshuttlecraftsmenmontana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The good: The furniture, lighting and color scheme are very congruent.
The business center and gym are adequate. Could use a fax machine though.
Shuttle to take you within a 3 mile radius between 8am - 10pm
Available underground parking and a cool mini bar.

The bad: No eggs, pancakes or waffles in the breakfast. Seriously, how hard is that?

Crappy 27 inch tube tv. Hilarious and sad. And the cupboard which contains the TV has it's door's opening at 90 degrees, so you have to be directly in front of it to see properly. Disposing the TV entirely wouldn't be a bad idea

Noise insulation is not better than any run of the mill place. I could hear the next door using restroom/shower in the mornings. And every morning around 6am, there would be a delivery truck with it's annoying noise. Proper insulation would have got the noise down atleast a bit.

The ugly: The wood shows it's age in places.
The pillows are definitely hard.

Conclusion: Santa Monica must indeed be a magical place for the place to charge so much. Put this in middle of walla walla and these guys would a tough sale. All in all, they do have some cool ideas (Shuttle, bikes) and the rating is more of a 3.5

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vamsi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you Vamsi K of Middletown, Connecticut for all your comments regarding your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your complete satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you

We are planning a multi-million dollar renovations plan starting Feb 2014, that will address the elements mentioned from this stay.

We believe Santa Monica to be a premium destination market, for Southern California. And our plans will elevate the stay experience to meet your expectations.

Please feel free to reach me directly, at 310-315-1555. I would welcome the opportunity to address any future return visits that you may have planned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Ambrose while in town for a medical emergency. Walking to the St Johns Medical Center was so easy from the Ambrose. We also found the nearby restaurants to be great as well. Tha Ambrose ambience is also soothing.Helpful staff and very good daily breakfast. Would return again.
Terry W

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you Terry W of Cincinnati for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Ambrose was super nice and super comfortable and conveniently located next to St. John's health center which was important to me. The staff was friendly and attentive. It was a nice, relaxing, and peaceful place to stay while away from the hospital.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonimoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you bonimoni1 of Louisiana for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hotel was beautiful, clean and service was polite, friendly and attentive. Breakfast was beyond my expectations and the many comings and goings of my wedding guests were all met with precision and detail. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you Ammy P of Toronto for your positive remarks about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel.

Congratulations ! We're elated to have hosted your Wedding group accommodations and that everyone's expectations were met.

Thank you again for bringing these positive comments to our attention.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel which is good . There are some really good eating places in the next street .

The breakfast they serve is one you get in any small boutique hotels mostly cold and fruits . For the same rate you pay in Asia it will be a multi cuisine breakfast platter .

One thing I do have a complain is the poor internet connection in the hotel I was having trouble doing basic emails which are critical when you are coming for business .

On the positive note the room I stayed 222 was good , spacious , and could see beautiful sunset from the room . Very convenient for me as my place if work was 2 blocks away .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank imswaminathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you, imswaminathan of Gurgaon, India for both your positive and critical comments about your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Your concerns have been duly noted and will be resolved promptly.

Thank you again for bringing these issues of concern to our attention.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews