We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Mike and Rida at the front desk were friendly and particularly helpful at check in. They spoke to my children each morning on the way to breakfast and provided them with food to feed the fish afterwards. Rooms are an adequate size, beds are comfortable and the location is convenient in that it is walking distance to some restaurants and Whole Foods. It's a quick drive to get to the beach or the shopping on 3rd.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you FrequentTravelingFam of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for your positive review and comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

We kindly appreciate the staff members you acknowledged that made a difference for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great hotel, very accommodating and attentive. Front desk staff assisted in finding a quiet room on an upper floor which certainly helped since my husband was having a procedure at UCLA Santa Monica facility. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SLOtraveler688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you SLOtraveler688 of Atascadero, California for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your comments are worth our efforts !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is nice. It has an odd lighting scheme which causes a couple issues:

1. The shower in the rooms were dark! I had to take showers with the shower curtain half open.
2. Good luck seeing yourself in the full mirrors.

There are many nice things about this hotel:
1. When arriving there was a house bottle of wine and chocolates on my bed. I did not drink the wine (no time!).
2. The bed was comfortable. The pillows are another story, soon to come.
3. The bathroom was fairly clean
4. The breakfast was fantastic
5. The shuttle service is nice

I arrived late and was tired. The first night I fell asleep and found the pillows were some what flat feather pillows. I asked for cotton pillows the next morning at the front desk on my way out. The lady at the front desk was very defensive and was arguing over the type of pillows that were available to me in the room. Finally one of the other service guys came to the desk and immediately promised me pillows would be put in my room. I like to think the lady was having a bad day... this was one of the most odd exchanges I have had with a hotel front desk person.

We were going to rent bikes, but there were not enough available for our party. We took a shuttle to the pier instead of biking. Our driver was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

We're extremely sorry to hear that you had an "exchange " with one of our Front Desk Member's.
We will certainly address this matter appropriately.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very comfortable and nicely appointed hotel close to everything but at a good price. Easy walk to the main shopping and waterfront district in Santa Monica. I liked the contemporary Asian feel of the hotel. Have stayed there in the past, and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you Eva W of Seattle for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our " repeat " guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Please feel free to reach out to our Reservations Manager, Alfred Edwards via email at; alfred@ambrosehotel.com for our BEST GUEST program and discounts on repeat visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Ambrose several times over the past few years and have found it to be consistently excellent. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the complimentary continental breakfast is well-presented. The hotel's location is very convenient--there's a 24-hour Walgreens on the same block, a Whole Foods around the corner on Wilshire, and the shops and restaurants of Montana Avenue are an easy walk. The Third Street area and beach are a little farther, but still easily reached by anyone used to walking, or only a couple minutes by car. Only one small complaint on this visit--it seems that parking, which was formerly free, is now $20/day. The good news is that it's self-parking with unlimited in/out privileges, in a garage under the hotel, and $20 is still cheaper than most LA hotel parking fees.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EM2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our repeat guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Please feel free to reach out to our Reservations Manager, Alfred Edwards via email at: alfred@ambrosehotel.com for our BEST GUEST program for discounts on repeat visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our stay at the Ambrose was quiet and restful. My only suggestion for improvement would be to have some more protein items at the complimentary continental breakfast such as hard boiled eggs. They had a great selection of carb based foods -- muffins, croissants, etc. I'm on a low carb, high protein, high fat (New Atikins or Paleo diet).

One nice feature is that Whole Foods is only a couple of blocks away. The Hotel has a complimentary shuttle within 3 miles. It's a short $45 taxi ride from LAX so no need to rent a car if staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danalt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you danalt7 of Kula, Maui so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I love everything about the Ambrose and would stay there again in a minute. Beautiful comfortable clean rooms, very quiet, great breakfast, friendly staff. Parking was easy and the optional car service was great with a super friendly driver. Front desk was extremely helpful. Housekeeping (ours was Isabel) was so friendly and professional. Stayed 4 nights and never had a problem.

I hope to come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniesknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you Bonniesknitting of Ashland, Oregon so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,967 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $276 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing