We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ambrose
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$452
$395
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$327
$269
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
$490
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$315
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$376
$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$279
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$496
$286
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveler rating
632
440
134
56
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
440
134
56
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastfree parkingwhole foodsquiet neighborhoodwithin a mile radiuswilshire blvdcar servicebusiness triphome away from homelos angelesla areastay in santa monicawalgreensshuttlecraftsmenmontana
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we stayed one week at the ambrose. very convenient location. very nice interior design. comfortable room and nice friendly staff. Sometimes difficult to find a seat at breakfast , but this is fun as well. room with balcony would have been better, but it was ok despite that. Pascal from France.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascal21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you Pascal for your warm and positive comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It may be a bit on the pricey side but the Ambrose Hotel pays for itself. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous with a large sleeping/living area and bathroom. The breakfast is huge with a variety of baked goods, cereal, fruit and yoghurt. And the best part? A town car for you to use. We were able to travel to the pier, shopping and back totally free of charge. The driver is absolutely hilarious too and he remembered us after seeing us a couple of times. Even gave some great advice and history on the area. The staff were also incredibly helpful. We ended up leaving here relaxed and ready for the final part of the holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you, Karen B from Australia for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

We couldn't have said it better...

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is good, quiet and comfortable but expensive.
It is a little taken away from the center but it remains acceptable.
What is really a pity, it is the lack of room sat to have breakfast.
Philippe, from Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Padac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you " Padac " from Paris for your most recent stay with us at the Ambrose Hotel in Santa Monica, CA.

We sincerely appreciate the opportunity in serving your accommodations and hope that you will find us again in the future.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Please reach out direct for any upcoming repeat guest discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Ambrose Hotel is in a convenient location - located close to a Walgreens and a few places to eat. The beach is a short drive away. We stayed here for 4 nights and had a good experience. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The only thing I have say is when we checked in we requested a room with a balcony and the staff member told us it wasn't ready (we were early) so we came back later. Once checked in and into the room - no balcony.

Overall it's a nice quiet location with free wifi and continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262annad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you " 262anad" for your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your positive comments and research in finding us.
We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Please reach out direct for any upcoming repeat guest discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for a day on a business trip. Rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. However, there is no restaurant service and the breakfast is served in a makeshift living room with limited options and limited seating capacity. Other facilities includes only a Gym which has basic equipment. This is strictly a business hotel- definitely not for leisure stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradeepPaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you " PP_201301" for your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews