We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to 'by-the-beach' accomodation”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great alternative to 'by-the-beach' accomodation”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for six nights and was very comfortable. The staff were attentive and helpful, allowing me early access to my room after a long international flight. They also helped with suggestions and directions to various LA attractions

Location of the hotel is good, particularly its proximity to a number of eating places, a great 'organic' supermarket and local buses. Although the hotel is not right on the beach, this allows for a bit of peace and quiet, plus walking around the attractive (and clean) neighbourhood is an added attraction.

One reason I chose the hotel was ease of transportation - without a car - to both the Getty Centre and the Getty Villa. Venice Beach can also be easily reached by the 'Blue Bus'. For further afield, the yellow route of the double decker 'hop-on-hop-off' bus stops in Santa Monica.

Room for improvement: Breakfast seating was quite limited plus a few more items could be added to the menu without necessitating the introduction of a hot breakfast. Also there were a few minor problems, which I think related to the change of ownership of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne3058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you Melbourne3058 for your positive comments about the Ambrose Hotel and our Staff !

We sincerely appreciate all your positive remarks and work to consistently deliver unexpected service results to all our guests'.

It's guest's like you that make our job effortless !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    426
    129
    52
    45
See reviews for
314
301
87
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall disappointed with our recent stay at the Ambrose despite the management doing their best to satisfy us. The management did reduce our charges for the hotel stay which was a decent gesture but was warranted given the range of issues we had. Without going into the individual detail of the issues we do feel that the management and the hotel are obviously going through a period of change and they clearly have some staffing problems. Many of the staff were polite and helpful ( mostly on the reception desk) whilst the other staff found around the hotel clearly were unhappy . This unfriendliness and unhappiness should not be felt by the customer but it was pretty obvious and not what you expect or usually get from hotels in the states.

The hotel is in a decent position 20 blocks walk (30 mins) from the main shopping area or a quick taxi or public transport ride. It is next to Wilshire Bvd where you have a good road between Santa Monica and LA. It is well presented in terms of the reception and lounge/ breakfast area but this was quite busy at breakfast time which meant competition for a decent place to sit.
The rooms were okay but I would suggest coming the time when they will need a refresh if hey are to continue asking the price they do. The TVs are old.

There car park is underneath the hotel so is ideal although we understand that there is now a daily charge for this . Other matters worthy of note are that there are no ice making facilities available without having to ask reception and very strangely you have to pay for be coffee and tea in the room which was the first time ever for us anywhere and we have travelled extensively. Just comes across as a poor gesture.

We booked this hotel based on many old trip advisor reports but were saddened to see a number of negative comments since the ownership or management has changed . Overall this hotel still has the potential to satisfy but there needs to be better attention to the basics of customer service and doing the basic stuff right.

So the good is the position and the breakfast was decent .. the bad is he additional charges within the room and parking ... And the ugly is the number of issues we had .

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the side alleyway as it can be noisy . 1 room does not have a safe so make sure...
See more room tips
Green Features: Windows in 2 rooms we went in had holes in so need replacing so not sure how these can be energy rated
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Unwilling to pay a $200 plus premium to stay at a hotel on the beach, we opted for The Ambrose twenty blocks inland. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the ceiling high (we were on the top floor, the fourth). It was also remarkably quiet and I only heard two sirens in the afternoon from the nearby hospital. The whole hotel is very Zen-like, with a Koi pond and dim lighting, which can make it a little bit difficult to read, but just a little. They have a great complimentary breakfast with fresh fruit and 2 free papers (the WSJ and LATimes). They offer 24-hour room service, which we didn't order, and have no restaurant, which wasn't a problem since there are many within walking distance or easy to get to because of the free shuttle to Montana Street and the Third Street Promenade. They charge $10 to $20 for convenient non-valet parking, depending on the package. We would definitely stay there again.

Green Features: I believe it's Leed certified; they had a recycling trash can in the room
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriennaGuermentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations....

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I prefer boutique hotels to the big chains, so we were happy to have found the Ambrose.
As others have mentioned, the rooms are nicely appointed, but it's all the little touches that make the difference; a beautiful organic continental breakfast that is included with the room, the beautiful Asian garden views, and the wonderful staff are what sets the Ambrose apart.

Other reviewers complained about the $20/day parking fees. If you don't want to pay, there is plenty of metered parking out front, and on the side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgraded room with a garden view. Ask for a quiet location.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PhysicianEndorsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our Southern California " vibe " that transcends other destination locations especially in boutique hotels.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

We appreciate your comments and will share them within our departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This boutique hotel nestled in the peaceful back streets of Santa Monica is a delight. The staff are quietly amazing, although one did send us on a wild goose chase to a restaurant in the opposite direction!, the surrounding exceptional and the atmosphere just right. Little touches like the Aveda eco friendly complimentary shampoos, conditioners and shower soap all make this the perfect hotel for the modern family. The breakfast is superb, all organic fresh fruit, cereals and croissants, toast or pastries with oodles of fresh fruit juice, coffee, tea and milk start the day perfectly. This is a must go to hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a green hotel...every detail of the environment is cared for.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardnaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very disappointed in the service at the Ambrose after having several staff member issues. It was clear that our experience was not important to this hotel at all. Todd, the general manager only made the situation worse after we had already decided we wouldn't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travilbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We’re very sorry to hear that your stay experience was not to your satisfaction.

We attempt to exceed every guest expectation on every stay and I am terribly sorry that this did not happen for you.

Please reach me directly to discuss the issues that you experienced. Your input is important to us as we evaluate for better performance for all our guest stay experiences. I can be reached at 310-315-3180 or via email at gm@ambrosehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had 4 nights here and really enjoyed it. Yes it was sometimes a challenge to find space to eat breakfast but there are tables outside too. It was a 30 minute walk to the heart of Santa Monica but there are places to eat near the hotel. On our 1st walk, we bumped into Gary Barlow in the supermarket, so the walk didn't seem that bad! $10 taxi ride back from the pier. Lovely little air conditioned gym (if you're into it!) and easy access to Hollywood etc. Overall we really enjoyed the Ambrose. Oh and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaobellaunoduetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We couldn't have said it better !

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know what our entire hotel, staff and accommodations are all about in providing superior personal service.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,858 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing