We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight and really well liked”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Astoria, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick overnight and really well liked”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

So I had to go to LA-LA Land for an overnight business trip and the firm chose this place in Santa Monica. I know squat about LA so I was indifferent. I drove up to the hotel and liked what I saw! It outside is really peaceful and very Arts and Crafts, very Greene & Green, peaceful relaxing etc.

i walked in and the two ladies at the counter where wonderful! very friendly and funny! I checked in and had to go and did not come back until about 10:30, got my key and loved my room. peaceful, clean etc. The sound of the water feature helped me rest, the bed was sooo comfy the shower was great and it was just a great room. (Only one issue- the Iron sucked and just stained my shirt)

Woke up so refreshed and went done for "breakfast". it was really nice, good organic teas and coffee good croissants and yogurts etc. The lobby is really pretty, cute Asian and Arts & Crafts pieces are well layered out and the place has a wonderful peaceful feel to it.

I would def. stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmanuele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.
We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    422
    127
    52
    45
See reviews for
313
298
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I was recently hospitalized at Saint Johns which is across the street and wanted to recover before traveling back home.
The Ambrose is convenient to the hospital. It is not on the beach but the price is right. They even gave us a hospital discount!!!

The hotel is an architectural mix between frank Lloyd wright and Asian. It is very soothing.

All rooms are not created equal. The first room I had was a deluxe king. Although the room itself had charm I found it to be quite dark. No balcony the windows looked out towards someone else's windows. Hence you would keep the curtains drawn. It was in the back of the building.

The second room which had handicap access was brighter with a small balcony. It was in the front of the hotel and overlooked the garden area.

Both rooms were large. The first room had a flat screen TV. The second room had an old Zenith. It seemed it worked okay. There are limited television stations and no paid movie station. There was a DVD player.

I would agree that the hotel has charm. It does require some fixing up in the rooms which are showing major wear. The hall walls are dingy.

The free shuttle to local places was handy as we did not have a rental car. However they do discourage you from using it to get take out food. They have a great breakfast buffet and offer room service. However the evening room service is limited. And they did take us to get take out twice.

The really great thing about the hotel except location is the service!!! The staff, everyone of them, cannot do enough to make you happy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnaj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.
We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our room was very comfortable (we had one king bed) and quiet. Breakfast was as advertised - very impressive and yummy. You are 20 blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier area, but they do have a "free" shuttle. Well, the shuttle is first come, first served, so leave enough time to get a cab as the shuttle driver wears many hats. The "shuttle" is a Lincoln Navigator, not the cute cabs that were advertised (a cab ride costs us $10 to the Santa Monica Pier area). The rooms do not have coffee pots, but there is a small fridge (mini bar) that you can use for your own drinks at no extra charge. The coffee/tea downstairs goes away after breakfast, and is replaced with fresh water and iced tea. The gym is nice with free weights and several different exercise machines (enough to get the job done). There is an iHop a couple of blocks away, and Fromans is a couple blocks away in the other direction. There is a Walgreens one block away (very handy). Overall, this property is very clean, has a nice little garden area in the front with koi pond and parking below the hotel. Staff was not as well informed as you would expect, but were attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.
We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Ambrose is a pleasant change of pace from run-of-the-mill hotel chains with warm but contemporary Asian-inspired décor that is just beginning to show some wear and tear. Although adjacent to some large medical centers, it is quiet at night, but somewhat off the beaten track so to fully explore the heart of Santa Monica requires a good pair of walking shoes or a car. For lovers of baked-goods, the daily breakfast buffet offers an array of rolls and breads that would be fit for a fine Sunday brunch. The only downside for me was the lack of an in-room coffee pot. As a visitor from the central-time zone, I naturally arose 2 hours early and would have appreciated being able (without the intrusion of a room servant) to brew myself some coffee and to enjoy it in my PJs while seated on the private balcony warmed by its gas-log fireplace while waiting for the sun to take over.

Room Tip: My room had a large balcony with seating for 4 as well as a chaise...a great place to relax and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank createwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Came back to Santa Monica for work again in late January, booked a room here after a great stay last time. I tend to check in around 9pm and check out the next morning so I have not taken advantage of all this place has to stay.. However with that said, I am not disappointed during my short time here.

The hotel is very serene, which is exactly what I need after a day of traveling from NYC, plus a full day of work and business dinner. The beds are super comfortable.i got a room with a balcony over looking the small court yard. Love the complimentary breakfast in the morning. You can sit down, grab a paper, a nice chocolate croissant and start your morning off right. I do enjoy that the hotel has a car service to drop me off at the office a few blocks away. Perfect for when I'm in and out of LA... No need to rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanderz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Ambrose is a very low key boutique hotel set back a little from the main streets of Santa Monica.

I stayed there for a week as I had some things to do in Los Angeles and it was absolutely ideal. Very nice staff, courtesy car, free parking, well located, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and very friendly staff.

The hotel really makes staying very easy and a pleasure. It is a little more expensive than some of its competitors but in my humble opinion it is well worth the extra few bucks.

The staff don't quibble if you want to take an extra apple to your room, are very helpful and have a good knowledge of the area.

If I go back in the near future I will definitely stay with them again.

Thank you to everyone at the Ambrose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 171959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

When I lived in Los Angeles, I must've driven and walked past the Ambrose tons of times and just thought it was some nice apartment building because it doesn't look like your typical hotel. After moving out of town, I came back to the Ambrose for a business meeting and found the staff to be extraordinarily nice and accommodating during our stay and meeting, making sure that everything we needed was taken care of. The free parking was also a plus, especially since parking at L.A. hotels is usually astronomical, and I had a great room up on the 4th (top) floor with a huge balcony that had enough room for a table, 2 chairs and a bench -- the balcony also faced west so I could watch the sunset and see the ocean off in the distance. The room itself was nice, and the bed was comfortable. It was also helpful to have the free breakfast that included pastries, fruit and coffee.

That said, the Ambrose is showing its age a little. Some of the wallpaper in my bathroom was peeling off the wall, some of the carpet was starting to pull away from the wall, and the chairs in our meeting room definitely were showing some marks and wear. Also, the walls were pretty thin, so when my next door neighbor decided to use his bathroom at 11pm, I heard it pretty clearly when he flushed his toilet and ran his shower, so that sort of thing may disturb light sleepers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RockTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,820 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,243 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing