We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ambrose hotel is a quaint boutique hotel in Santa Monica. We were two adults and a child- had a comfortable stay for 3 nights in a king bedroom. Our room was nicely appointed, we found the staff to be friendly and efficient, and the continental breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. They have a little garden area with a small fishpond just outside the breakfast area which our 1 year old found really entertaining. Wireless and parking in their large underground lot was included in the rate, which is great. Overall a very pleasant, relaxing experience, we would definitely stay again, and would not hesitate to recommend.

The one thing to be aware of is the location, which could be a disadvantage depending on what you are looking for. It is on a quiet street just off Wilshire about 20 blocks from the ocean front- so about a 20-25 minute brisk walk. They do have a complimentary shuttle service, but if you have young children, you will not be able to use it. We did not ever find this a disadvantage since we had a car, and never had a problem finding metered parking closer to the ocean front.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narayanan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.
We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    411
    127
    51
    46
See reviews for
299
289
85
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We used to have relatives stay here when we lived in Santa Monica. Now that we've moved away we gave it a try and had a great stay: very comfortable room (two adults, one child), outstanding free continental breakfast, great free parking situation, free wifi, lovely design. The only thing keeping me from giving five stars is that noise really travels, not only from adjacent rooms but also any time someone is in the hallway. But for just over $200/night it's a great choice and we will definitely stay here the next time in Santa Monica without a second thought.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.
We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a repeat visit and The Ambrose is every bit as good as I remembered. I stayed for five nights through New Year for a few days R 'n R on my own. Whilst not downtown, the location is fine within walking distance of excellent eateries on Wilshire. The car park underneath, with lifts directly down through the hotel to the two levels is very easy access. You can also be on Lincoln Boulevard and Interstate 10 within a couple of minutes and Century City is only 15 minutes along Santa Monica Boulevard. My advice would be, as a cyclist, to not use the hotel's free bikes which are poorly maintained cruisers with only a back-pedal brake. Given the number of junctions requiring frequent stops, these bikes are hard to handle!

The rooms are dark but extremely quiet. Unlike other contributors I did not observe any sound-proofing issues despite the excellent sound systems and CD players with excellent speakers in every room. The beds and pillows are of the highest order. The breakfast offering is imaginative, with lovely scones and pastries, though the seating is not ideal, being largely low tables.

The desk staff are helpful and accommodating. I intend to stay again and again. Compared with European prices these days, this hotel offers fantastic four star value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked a room with a King size bed but apparently they gave us a room with a Queen size bed. I was wondering why my sleep is so uncomfortable? I had to mesure the bed: 60 inches instead of 76. To me a Queen size bed is uncomfortable for two people. On checkout they told me that they have only 3 rooms with the King size bed. Why would you mislead people then? They also told me that if I would say earlier they could have tried to move us to the other room: they made it sound like it's all my fault. People, when I am booking a hotel room, I don't want to deal with bed measurements, negotiations and room relocations. That's not what I am here for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SergeMavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I apologize that you were given a queen bedded room when you had booked a king bedded room. We do have three rooms that are mistakenly coded as single king bedded when they in fact have a queen bed. We are resolving that situation. All the other rooms have one king bed or have two queen beds. We are planning a renovation later this year and will convert those three rooms to kings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We knew we wanted to stay in Santa Monica, but didn't want to pay Ocean Ave prices. We found the Ambrose through Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is designed in a very Zen like manner with a tranquil courtyard that greets you when you walk up. The rooms follow the same trend with hardwood floors and Asian influenced design pieces. We stayed in a lower level room with a small patio facing the street. There was no road noise to speak of at night. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the shower was roomy enough (but not necessarily large). The continental breakfast included cereal, pastries, fresh strawberries and yogurt. Enough to get you started on the day. The only negative is that the walls are rather thin. We heard conversations from the room next door as if they were in our room. Although to be fair, it was New Year's Eve. The second night was much better after our rowdy neighbors checked out.

One huge plus is the customer service. We were booked for 3 nights at the non-refundable rate, but at the last minute we decided to check out a day early and move closer to Disneyland. The would have been well within their rights to charge us for the 3rd night, but they graciously let us check out early and did not charge us for the 3rd night we'd reserved. Not many hotels would do that. A++ for customer service in my book.

Second plus was the shuttle service. The Ambrose has an SUV with driver who will run you back and forth to 3rd Street, the Pier, etc. He was never more than 6 minutes away. Our driver was also very knowledgeable about places to go and good restaurants to choose. They also have a bike rental on-site. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StorytellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, MD
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Ambrose for two nights while on vacation and enjoyed our visit. Our room was comfortable, especially the beds. Our third-floor room overlooked the street but noise was minimal. There were light-blocking curtains, which blocked out the early morning sun. The supplied toiletries were of high quality and the terrycloth robes were a nice touch. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, however. There is an "honor bar" but no coffee maker in the room.

As others have noted, this hotel is not close to the Santa Monica pier. We used the (free) shuttle, which was quick and convenient. The area is safe and there are many restaurants within walking distance. Self parking was free and easy. Wifi was free.

The breakfast was delicious, with fresh pastries and fruit, plus juices, coffee and yogurt. Breakfast items were replenished quickly. My daughter especially liked the chocolate-filled croissants. There were not enough seats in the breakfast room, as others have remarked. The breakfast room is next to the Study, with a fireplace, and also opens onto a garden area with a fountain.

The front desk personnel were pleasant and informative. We would gladly stay at this hotel on future visits. Our friends who live in nearby Glendale commented on what a find this hotel was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and location, while far from beach, is not too bad. But my pricing and check-in experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

I booked an upgraded room on one of the consolidation sites for $259, reduced from $279. When I checked in, I was given what they call a Premier King room. It seemed a bit small for this price, so I checked the hotel site for the same night.

Thet had a Deluxe King for $219, a Premier King for $229, and a Studio King for $279. So I was paying $259 plus fees for a room the hotel sells itself for $229, not such a great deal.

I spoke to several people and was first offered a larger Premier King room. I explained that I thought I had paid the Studio rate and would just like a credit. After more deliberation, I was allowed to move to a Studio (at no time was I offered help moving nor did anyone offer to bring me the key to the new room). It was all done sort of grudgingly.

I don't know about you, but I prefer not to have to spend an hour of my vacation negotiating and changing rooms. I would just like to get what I pay for, or get a credit when I don't.

I doubt many people would have checked the hotel's own rates, and think it is either a convenient "mistake" or they don't know what their marketing people are offering. In either case, I would have ended paying more and getting less ...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlin_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing