We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but worst rate guarantee??”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Fran
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but worst rate guarantee??”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and location, while far from beach, is not too bad. But my pricing and check-in experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

I booked an upgraded room on one of the consolidation sites for $259, reduced from $279. When I checked in, I was given what they call a Premier King room. It seemed a bit small for this price, so I checked the hotel site for the same night.

Thet had a Deluxe King for $219, a Premier King for $229, and a Studio King for $279. So I was paying $259 plus fees for a room the hotel sells itself for $229, not such a great deal.

I spoke to several people and was first offered a larger Premier King room. I explained that I thought I had paid the Studio rate and would just like a credit. After more deliberation, I was allowed to move to a Studio (at no time was I offered help moving nor did anyone offer to bring me the key to the new room). It was all done sort of grudgingly.

I don't know about you, but I prefer not to have to spend an hour of my vacation negotiating and changing rooms. I would just like to get what I pay for, or get a credit when I don't.

I doubt many people would have checked the hotel's own rates, and think it is either a convenient "mistake" or they don't know what their marketing people are offering. In either case, I would have ended paying more and getting less ...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlin_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    422
    127
    52
    45
See reviews for
310
298
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and had a very nice visit. The hotel is nicely designed and tasteful, though perhaps a bit worn at the edges. My wife was very happy here, which is an accomplishment in itself.

The room itself was very clean and spacious, with nice furniture, though the television was old style CRT (we didn't come to watch television, so that wasn't a big deal). On the down side, the bathroom exhaust system didn't work so well.

The breakfast was very nice, though there weren't enough tables for everyone who came down for breakfast, and some people had to eat sitting on the sofa's. The coffee was better than most American hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the west side, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Although the hotel is not close to the beach and malls that Santa Monica has to offer, it makes up for it in cosiness. As I didn’t rent a car during my stay I also found their free shuttle extremely convenient. I was able to walk to Wilshire Boulevard where there are quite a few restaurant choices available just around the corner. The area is quiet and feels very safe, even at night.

I had a large room on the top floor with a comfortable seating area. The furniture looked nice - very ‘old Californian’. If I had to look for a little something that could be improved I would just point out the shower curtain: mine was made of an opaque garment that didn’t let much light through, which can feel a bit claustrophobic when showering.

The free breakfast (nice croissants!) and wifi were much appreciated. And for those who have a car I understand parking is free as well. Finally a hotel that doesn’t make a living out of hidden charges!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aledwige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I planned to stay at the Ambrose, despite its terrible location, because they claim to have a free shuttle. What they DON'T say on their website is that it's not for anyone under 8 because of California law. Apparently, we're supposed to be familiar with such laws, though I thought truth in advertising was also the law, and not just in California. Our room was very small and overlooked a parking structure. The location is bad and the staff is... not that helpful. I'd pay a little bit more money and stay in a part of Santa Monica that's walking distance to the beach, stores, or restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I am truly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at The Ambrose. While we are not directly on the beach, we are conveniently located to shopping and businesses in a residential neighborhood not far from city center. I hope you understand that our staff is responsible to see that we adhere to California law in regards to transporting small children in a safe and legal manner and was disappointed that we could not accommodate your child in our complimentary shuttle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lovely designed hotel. Staff were friendly and breakfast was immense. We did have a room facing the road which did become a bit busy in the mornings especially as its across from a hospital and by traffic lights so does get quite busy. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the centre of Santa Monica but this can be easily walked. It was one of the few hotels I could find with free parking which is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerHB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very quaint hotel with super friendly staff and spacious, clean room. The rate includes breakfast, which is not to be missed. The breakfast has delicious croissants, muffins, and other baked goods as well as fresh orange juice and grape juice.

Pillows were a bit too hard for me, and the AC noise was a bit loud. But other than that, the room was quite comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf_nicole22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
207 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is beautifully designed with elements of Japanese architecture and Art Deco furniture. It also has a Japanese garden. It has free Internet, a generous breakfast and free shuttle within Santa Monica. The staff is very friendly. My stay in this hotel was thoroughly enjoyable.
Olga

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,785 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,226 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing