We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Best Kept Secret" of Santa Monica!!!”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife ande I travel a lot.

We stay at a lot of hotels and hotel chains; we have become very used to the typcial amenities associated with most hotels.

Imagine our excitement when we came across this true gem of a hotel, nestled in the Heart of Santa Monica! The foyer is open and eclectic; the breakfast station adjecent to the front desk is warm, invting, and homey. Each guest room exudes an old world charm; oh - and the beds are extremely comfortable! And parking is super easy - they have an easy-access underground parking area.

The best part of this hotel is the extreme hospitality and friendliness that the staff provides. They are all warm, genuine, and helpful. After staying here for just a few days, we felt like we were family!

The workout room is nice as well: even has free weights. Not always easy to find in hotels these days. Also has a great conference room area; we plan to use it the next time we stay here in March, as we have several meetings that we will need to set up for...


We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose to spend our last night at this hotel following a month long trip to California & Baja. Having done all the necessary research we were not disappointed. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable and furnished in a traditional style. The only downside for us was the lack of coffee/tea making facilities in the room. I know they do have room service and a mini bar/fridge but in my opinion a hot drink on tap is what every traveller needs especially when suffering from jetlag.

The hotel is set several blocks inland from the Pier & all the entertainment, very peaceful & quiet, however it does provide a courtesy London Taxi Cab to transport you to and fro on request - [or in our case a Suburban as the taxi had recently "died".]

The staff are very welcoming and knowledgable. They arranged our taxi to the airport, stored our luggage and put two bottles of Corona in the fridge! Had we not been keen to walk they would even have offered the use of the courtesy car and all this after we had checked out. The service could not have been better - plus the wifi is free.

The buffet breakfast, included in the price, was OK - pastries, cereals, toast etc served in the foyer which to be honest was rather cramped & was not totally suited to eating ie. lounge chairs & coffee tables.

All in all this was an excellent choice of hotel and the hour spent relaxing in the small garden before returning to LAX and a long flight home was rather special.

Yes I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel was nice and the location didn't bother us. It was about 25 minutes from the beach. The free parking, shuttle, and wifi certainly made up for it. We thought the breakfast was good, but would have liked more fruit variety. The room was smaller than I expected, and the bath tub and shower were underwhelming.

There was miscommunication on arrival as I had booked a room with a terrace (and had confirmed by email ahead of time) but ended up with a room with a balcony that you can't sit on. This was promptly fixed and we were given a room with a terrace which we ended up using a lot - perfect setting for a nice quiet breakfast.

We heard that the hotel was recently bought by a chain and we were told that the free shuttle may not stay with the change over, which would be a shame.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: - Our room was facing the hospital loading dock and was quite noisy in the morning - Located near W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_abroad_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind words for The Ambrose. However, I want to let you know that the hotel has not been sold to a chain. It remains an independent hotel and the complimentary shuttle will continue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is a bit out of the way, but the peace and quite were appreciated after a long day of traveling and sight seeing. However, with the complimentary shuttle to Third Street Prommenade, you are easily in the heart of the action. The atmosphere is very relaxing and we appreciated the Aveda bath products.

I would have preferred more fruit on the breakfast buffet rather than all the pastries. For the most part the staff was detached, but there were a few that went above and beyond which made up for the aloofness we experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I have visited Santa Monica annually for nearly 15 years. We've stayed in various hotels in the area ranging from the Days Inn to The Georgian. Of all, The Ambrose most provides for all our needs and is the only hotel we have stayed in for the past four visits. Why we return: serene rooms, spacious bathroom, excellent bathroom products, friendly staff, high-quality free continental breakfast, free parking, exercise room (cardio equiipment, weights, TV, water, towels), free loner bikes, free shuttle, gathering area off the lobby, location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_916_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were recently in Santa Monica for a family wedding and many of the wedding guests stayed at the Ambrose. The rooms are still quite charming with an old world feeling to them. The service is good, if not a bit off putting. Though the vaneer still looks bright, it is cracking around the edges. Beginning with the breakfast service, it is simply a ZOO! Trying to sevrve way too many people in a very small space with inadequate sitting arrangements. Additional small tables could easily be set up in the lobby area to help accommodate breakfast as well as expanding outside. The way it is set up now is a complete turn off. There needs to be a separate business center set up, rather than the single computer in the middle of the lobby where there is no privacy. Family members who had stayed at The Ambrose years ago related how it is just not the same. One constant however is the underground parking which is a blessing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are much more quiet and you do not want to end up on the alley side as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We needed to find a place last minute and Robet at the front desk was very accomodating and friendly. The room we obtained was a comfortable size, very clean and cozy. The floors are hard wood but what ever they use to clean them makes them extremely slippery with socks on. The furniture is also wood and very nice. The television is a 25 inch dinosaur and in need of being replaced, but that's minor. The sitting rooms by the lobby are quiet and comfortable and the outside patio has a pool of Coi fish which is very cool. Breakfast which is included alond with WI-FI and parking is continental but very delicious with a nice selection. A wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyc1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,968 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $276 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing