We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect boutique hotel in Santa Monica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Recently stayed here for one night. I booked it because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. I have to agree with all the rave reviews. The hotel, for everything that you get out of it (well-located, comfortable, serene, clean, good continental breakfast, fitness room, free taxi around the area until 10pm, complimentary parking) is so affordable compared to other nicer hotels in the SM area. Staff was attentive also, but not too imposing. Hotel has a good-sized lounge and garden/patio area where you can hang out or read a book. I also like that it's very eco-friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILMF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    419
    126
    52
    45
See reviews for
308
293
87
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is another great hotel that we thankfully found through Trip Advisor.
Very elegant and comfortable with a gym and healthy breakfast, our bedroom had a large balcony to relax on and very pretty sitting area downstairs, it was close to our meeting so the hotel sped us there in the resident Black Taxi which was very amusing for us Londoners.
The beds were outstandingly comfortable and the bathroom fab with Aveda product to enjoy.
This is going to be our regular hotel in LA from now on, we would not want to go anywhere else, thanks Ambrose Hotel for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this gorgeous hotel with our 2 children in September 2011. It was a wonderful location. Parking for our hire car was free. Hotel also has a car service to take guests to Santa Monica pier. The room was lovely & bathroom had divine toiletries. The breakfast was the best I have eaten in the states! The staff are so helpful. Very good value.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karuna-Maharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We loved, loved,loved this hotel. We booked it last minute and only stayed there one night but it was wonderful! We arrived late at night and we parked out car in the free parking garage. We wanted to spend the next day in Santa Monica before heading towards Hollywood. Not only did we leave our car in the parking garage all day, they offered complimentary drive to the pier and came back to pick us up at the end of the day. This was such a bonus for us. The breakfast was also very good. The quality of their food was what I expected for Santa Monica. Great food with a conscience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I really like this hotel. Everyone was friendly. The free breakfast was awesome. The taxi will bring you around santa monica for free till 10pm which is a great add on. They also had free parking which also benefited us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdb2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We gravitated toward this hotel due to its LEED certification, complimentary organic breakfast, free local cab, free parking, and reasonable rate for LA. All of these things met our expectations.

The location worked for us. It's in a more residential area of Santa Monica, but it's LA so you're going to need to drive to things regardless. The free local cab made it convenient for us to go to restaurants, bars, and points of interest in the Santa Monica neighborhood without having to find parking. Service ends at 10pm, but was always promptly available when we needed it and the driver's were all very friendly. Expect a lot of driving and traffic lights to drive yourself out to West Hollywood area.

The hotel decor was well done. The rooms were average size and had your typical amenities. We felt welcome, comfortable, safe, and the parking was conveniently placed under the hotel accessible from the hotel elevator.

The complimentary organic breakfast was exceptional, much more than we expected or typically find at a hotel. Breads, pastries, juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. It was nice not having to worry about breakfast every morning before heading out to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddles126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while travelling for with work from the 3rd February until the 10th. First impressions were that the hotel was really cosy, friendly and quiet. The staff at reception were very friendly and informative and were happy to go out of their way to help. They were also very relaxed and nothing seemed like too much trouble. The free shuttle from the hotel took you anywhere you wanted to go within reason and was available any time I wanted it. Breakfast was nice - a variety of cereals, toast, fruit and pastries which was everything I really wanted. Bike hire was free which was an added bonus. My room was clean and tidy and really comfortable and the hotel was very quiet so I wasn't kept awake by other guests or the road. I could have stayed forever! I would definitely recommend the hotel and would like to stay there again. The hotel is around a 20-30 minute walk to the beach but in a nice, residential neighbourhood.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and received no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalltalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing