We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the queue out the door.. It's worth the wait.”
Review of Tender Greens

Tender Greens
Ranked #22 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: Opened Sept 2011
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the queue out the door.. It's worth the wait.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here today after a local recommended the place. I am so glad she did. At first the wait in the sun was off-putting, but as soon as I got inside I could see it was worth the wait.
The salads are huge, and the chicken soup side was amazing.
The staff are efficient and extremely busy, and the food comes in no time at all.
Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    84
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can count others reviews”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We looked in Yelp (app) and enter the restaurant. When we found out that you have to 'build' your meal we thought to keep looking but we are soooooo glad we stayed.
The food is really tasty (and healthy) and the variety is great. we kept going and order more things...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfinkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great, fresh take away”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lots of local produce, reliable preparation, great desserts and very reasonably priced. The only thing that I don't like is the long lines around lunch and dinner times. And the seating is a bit outdated, so I opted for take away and to eat at the beach, which is just a few blocks away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Li_Isings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Simple but Unique. Loved the presentation of the items in the case. I had the Chicken Cobb. Deliciously fresh. Staff was courteous and I saw them help 3 people out of the restaurant because they had packages or were elderly and needed assistance. I want Tender Greens to come to my town. Local art displayed is pleasing to the eye too. Tends to be busy. Was crowded at 3 in the afternoon. Would go back again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Good healthy food, but it gets very busy”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Freshly made healthy food - perfect for a reasonably priced lunch in Santa Monica.

Get there early if you want to avoid long lines. On-street parking and a large parking structure across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bugs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tender Greens also viewed

 

Been to Tender Greens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing